The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support Rix Racing

Flywheel and disk options for a QM/PTT twin disk

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zenja

15+ Year Contributor
Nov 16, 2003
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan_Canada
I have a Quartermaster Optimum-V 7.25" triple disk clutch made to be used with the 0.105" disks (and an entirely different car). I intend to use two sintered bronze rally disks with it instead which will make it similar to the usual QM/PTT twin disk kits for our car. Those are 0.250" thick which means that two of those and a floater plate will be only 0.005" thinner in total than the original 3x0.105 + 2 floaters setup. This seems like it should work, and I need to confirm with QM, but if anyone thinks this won't work I'd like to know. Also, if anyone knows of someone carrying this 2 disk pack (for our car, 7/8 x 20 spline, correct me if I'm wrong) for less than $200, please let me know.

The main thing I was wondering is what to do for a flywheel. The engine car is a 7 bolt. Budget is one of the main concerns (I find it tough to spend $400 at this point for a simple piece with minimal gains). I was toying with the idea of using a QM button flywheel and an auto DSM flex plate, but after machining, that won't be much cheaper than a PTT flywheel, and it wouldn't really be any better. It would also be more hassle, more chance for stuff to go wrong, and it probably wouldn't clear the clutch fork even with some grinding.