The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support STM Tuned

First Complete Tear Down....

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ibc_Eng

Probationary Member
Feb 28, 2009
Olathe, Kansas
90 tsiawd with 91 convertion....I am new to working on care in general beyond brakes, plugs and oil changes for the most part. I am rebuilding the spare 2.0 that came with my car when I bought it. I am planning on replacing the engine in the car with this engine once it is built. I am looking for suggestions and any tips as to what mods and/or upgrades you would advise at this point in time. I am starting this build from the ground up.

I know a few people pushing +400 on a stock bottom end. I wouldnt dump a whole lot of money into the motor. In other words I dont think its necessary to go drop a bunch of money on pistons rods etc. You might do some oversized valves and valve train work but as long as you take your time and do it right should have any problems. Get ready because your going to either catch shit or get a bunch of people throwing out ideas that will cost you out the ass.

My best advice is dont overspend on the motor and save your money for Engine management/or a tune and a trip to the dyno when you finally get to that point

Just look around at people selling stuff and getting pennies on the dollars because they dumped BIG money into a motor to get name brand this and that and then ran out of time/money or something happend to the car before it was completed.

My 2 cents
Kolby

Kolby, Thanks for the input. Everything helps. Can you give me any input in regards to what 2G parts are an upgrade on a 1G?

Thanks Again