The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Could use some help!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike1ls

Probationary Member
Jan 6, 2013
Fremont, Nebraska
Hey im kind of new to DSM's and I ended up buying a 91 talon tsi. It looked like a solid car when I bought it, and I had a friend of mine come with me when I looked at it and he is a big DSM guy and he said it was a decent car that was worth buying. well... i started having problems with the car. I knew that when I bought it the tune needed work. It also had jumped timing at some point (before I bought it). Then one day after I drove it the night before (was running ok that night) it wouldnt even turn over and battery had full charge.
So then me and my friend (the DSM guy) decided to pull the engine with the intent of just putting new seals all the way aroung and fixing the timing. well, as all projects do, it turned out being WAY more than I was expecting... So far we found out the 20g that was on it was garbage, the head was screwed, needs all new seals, tranny needed to be rebuilt, and the block needs to be bored out, needed to fix the tune, and many other small things.... So far we have rebuilt a different head, got a rebuilt 16g, got the tranny professionally rebuilt, got seals, got ecm link v3 lite.