The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

1G Build/Maintenance recommendations for my 1G GSX

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I21chardh

Probationary Member
Oct 10, 2022
Denver, Colorado
Recently bought my first DSM and I am fairly new to the platform and have been learning a lot as I go, from friends with DSMs, and from browsing through forums like this. I have some time off from work this month and now at the point where I can start working on this car.

I have a stage 3 built trans, t case, 4 bolt rear ready to swap, and all that is left is the engine. My plan is to pull motor for a full disassembly and inspection, rebuild. I will be replacing main and rod bearings, lifters, seals, springs/retainers, oil and water pump, belts, valves cleaned. What else should I consider doing while engine is apart as far as maintenance goes?

I was considering replacing stock crank for 4g64 crank as I have access to one in great condition for free. Regardless of crank choice, I want to upgrade stock rods to Eagle H beams and HKS pistons. Would also like to upgrade to 272 cams. I'm thinking I will need to upgrade to 1600 or 2150cc injectors along with any necessary supporting fuel mods.

The car currently runs well and is currently making 450+whp on E85/DSMlink at 23lbs on a gt35r with 1200cc injectors, GM MAF. I would like the car to be around 600. Does this plan seem to be on track to meet these goals? Thanks for the help! Excited to dive into this and learn a bunch in the process!

Last edited: