The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

2G brake pad ? & $

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AW4G63

20+ Year Contributor
Apr 11, 2002
TommyPantsdownville, Ohio
I got a question, I never bought brakes for my 2g gsx. Its now time! What brakes do you guys run? I do alot of high speed freeway driving to and from work. I'll be going about 100 and have to slow down to 70 and some city driving. And where can I score a deal on some pads? Or maybe a good pad disc combo deal? I cant spend an ass load.

It depends on what you want. Everybody, it seems, wants more brake - but defining that doesnt bring out an answer. (I'm a brake engineer, and it drives me nuts to figure out what people really want)

So, here are some guidelines:
- maximum reliability. If important, stock type discs - no drilling or milling or plating.

- stopping power. Well, do you want inital bite (good grabbing when you first hit the brakes)? Or maybe good resistance to fade (you do lots of high speed stops). Or you want consistent braking (no difference in feel or power depending on temperature). All of these bring different answers to the party (oh yeah, there is no "ulitmate" lining, so don't pick "the max" for everything!

- good fade resistance for high speed stops: Choose a pad with high metallic content (MetalMasters, Porterfield). The metal helps absorb heat so your disc doesn't. Be careful, though: these linings squeek and eat up rotors.