The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Boost leak

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badazz92gt

Probationary Member
Feb 20, 2009
Round Lake, Illinois
hey guys, im from lake county area, and i just got my first dsm and im completely new to turbos. i dont have much for tools, and no garage, i was wondering if anyone could help me out trying to figure out if ihave a boost leak somewhere. the car will go to 3k rpm, then i step on the gas and the rpms take so long to get up, and the car wont boost up. this only happens occasionally, its on a pretty stock 1g.

maybe you have a blown turbo or you have it set to the lowest psi?

First: please fill out your profile, specifically any modifications you know of that you or prior owners have made to the car. :) It makes helping folks quite a bit easier.

Check the boost control solenoid (assuming you don't have a manual boost controller), make sure that the lines are connected correctly to it, as well as to the blow-off valve.

Take the intake snorkel off (just a couple of phillips-head screw clamps, nothing too involved), and spin the compressor wheel by hand. Does it spin freely?

Do you have an open-element air filter, or do you have the stock canister in place? If it's an open filter, can you hear the blow-off valve release pressure between shifts?

Performing a boost leak test requires minimal tools; if you're able to remove the intake snorkel (as above), you're all set to do a test after a quick trip to Home Depot. Pick up one of those cheap 5-gallon air tanks, and fill it at the gas station on the way home. :)