The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

Blown Head Gasket

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MCDGexx

20+ Year Contributor
Feb 27, 2003
Murrieta, California
Hey guys, i was looking through autotrader today. And their was a talon for sale for $894. Its a 2g and from the picture it looks pretty decent. How easy is a blown head gasket to fix and about how much would it cost?

A decent shop would probably charge you around 4-500. You could save a lot of money by doing it yourself, just make sure you know what you're doing.

well i'm pretty new to DSM's so i probably couldn't do it by myself, but I have a good friend who could probably help. I was wondering how much the actual parts to fix it would cost?

yah, there was another thread similar to this...

New headgasket itself from Mitsu is about 60 bux.... you might as well change your valve cover gasket too since that'll be coming off.... They are 20-30 bux. New headbolts.... and see if timing belt was changed at its designated time. If not, definately do that along with the HG change to save on labor.

I did all this crap a year ago...got new headgasket, valve cover gasket, timing belt, and water pump. None of the parts themselves are that expensive. Good luck....and by the way....that is really cheap for a 2g. Is it cuz of the blown HG?

If the headgasket is blow, ask yourself, did anything else die before that? Keep a watchful eye! Take the plugs out and look for holes in the pistons, damage from valves, etc.

how hard would the work be to do by myself. I just turned 16 and get my licence on monday so I just want something cheap that will run even ifs it an N/T.....for now :thumb: