The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Rix Racing

Best Road Race Setup on a 99GSX

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

'jrod'

10+ Year Contributor
Aug 24, 2011
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Ok guys i am new to the DSM world. I have a 2002 TT Viper and a built 95 VR4. But i picked up a really clean 99gsx and a 95 gsx. Here is what i have so far, Koni Coilovers, i have both the Evo8 BBK and a AEM BBK(which is better?) Sway bars, poly busing etc..

Next question is, What offset will i need to clear those brakes. The wheels that are on the car i hate. I will prob want a 17or 18" wheel. Also what turbo will be better a GT3076R or a 35R for the road course?

Im sure if you have those other built cars you can answer your own question.

In my opinion both those turbo are way too big for a road course. but if i had to pick i would pick the 30r. realistically something smaller with quicker response would be better. My scm 61 which is basically a 35r with journal bearings doesnt spool untill 3800 rpms. my evo 3 16g basically spooled at 2k. but its all up to you man. dont forget your going to need a million other mods not just slap on a 35r

And my other cars are built not to road race, they are all have the suspension and brakes too i just dont. I street race and drag race.

Here is what i got

the 99: Is a 1000cc E85, Greddy FMIC, 3" Exhaust, TRE Tranny, DSM Link, GT3076R, Magnus Intake, Full Fuel System, 272cams, built head. Made 472 on 27psi.

The 95: sorry for this, i just copyed the mod list.

ROSS STROKER PISTONS

CROWER RODS W/ ARP STUDS AND ARP MAIN STUDS

2.4L CRANKSHAFT

.03 OVER BLOCK

ENTIRE ROTATING ASSEMBLY BLUEPRINTED AND BALANCED

BLOCK MAGNAFLUXED