The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support ExtremePSI

balance shaft

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the_jester

15+ Year Contributor
Oct 12, 2003
parksley, Virginia
i have been reading in the vfaq pages and those other links. and i have found info on removing the balance shaft. and i have some experience working on engines but mostly just old chevy smallblocks. which have none of these parts. anyways what is the benefit from doing this. and another question has nothing to do with dsm's i have a porsche 944 turbo and i am restoring it. the belt is off the balance shafts, i dont know if they have to be in time with anything. anyway any info on balance shafts would be welcome

Every expert I know on these boards says it's the greatest Mod you can do - I just did mine myself this year & I fully agree with them - You pick up a little vibe in the Steering wheel at idle - looking at the motor in the engine bay you'll swear it idles smoother - The motor sings after you get rid of those heavy POS's - It's unbelievable that any engineer anywhere dreamed those things up for as little good as they do vice all the HARM THEY CAN DO! During the mid-life crisis maintenance period on the front of these motors of our vintage you are almost 90% to getting rid of them anyway - anyone who doesn't is absolutely NUTS.

And I wouldn't TOUCH that Porsche until you knew the answer in advance.

well then i will re-read that lijnk about getting rid of the balance shaft and think about doing it