WiCkEd95GSX
15+ Year Contributor
- 32
- 0
- Sep 27, 2005
-
University Park,
Pennsylvania
Ok so I was checking Autotrader and came across this deal.
<a href ="http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=191004795&dealer_id=57064428&car_year=1998&model=ECLIP&bkms=1129788804099&make2=sel_one&lang=en&isp=y&start_year=1995&engine=&certified=&fuel=&search_type=both&distance=200&make=MIT&color=&min_price=&drive=All+wheel+drive&max_mileage=&address=07503&advanced=y&end_year=1999&doors=&transmission=Manual&max_price=&cardist=13">1998 GSX</a>
its a 1998 with under 60k miles for only 2900?! I am like WTF?! I email the guy to ask him whats wrong with the car and he replies back in the email "Thank you for your recent intrest on my car! The car is a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse in perfect conditions without any mechanical problems . The price for the item is US $2,900.00. As a shipping career I will use DAS, all the shipping/handling and insurance charges are included in the sale price.You will get the package with all the papers, clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well. If you have any questions at all, please let me know and I will be more than willingto help you out! If you would like to go ahead with an order right away contact me via e-mail and i will let you know more about the transaction.
Thank you. "
Yea right I knew from the beginning this is too good to be true, so I email the guy back telling him I want to look over the car and test drive it, so then he emails me back saying "Fort Mill, SC is the location of the car. I`m not in US for the moment and the pick it up option is not avalable ! but i can shipp you the car. There is nothing wrong with the car ... i sell the car at this price because i recently moved from US to Glasgow with my whife who is from England and we intend to mary in UK and i sold my house over US and everything owned by me and the only thing to sell is the car. So if you want to make this deal i will need the folowing details from you:
-full name and address;
-shipping address;
-phone #
After i will have all this details i will forward them to AutoTrader and they will proced the order. You will be contacted by AutoTrader with all the instruction that you need to close the deal with me. So now all im waiting is your e-mail with the requested details so we can procede with the deal."
Ok yea right Im not that narrow pal. First of all the guys email is a free account, and it just happens to be eclipse1998 or something like that. Then listed it says the location of the seller is in NY, now that I want to test drive the car its all the way in SC. And you just happen to be out of the country how convenient. Yea, if the car has no problems and with that mileage you can sell that car in less than a week for at least 9k. Another thing is I can almost swear that Autotrader says on their website that they never get involved with the buyers and sellers. Yea so I am convinced that this is definately a scam. My doubt that this is a unique situation is .00000000000001%. Anyway I dont think im going to even bother to email the guy back. Am I right or am I being a little to paranoid? Just wanted to know if any of you guys heard of this kind of scam or had any experience with this.
<a href ="http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=191004795&dealer_id=57064428&car_year=1998&model=ECLIP&bkms=1129788804099&make2=sel_one&lang=en&isp=y&start_year=1995&engine=&certified=&fuel=&search_type=both&distance=200&make=MIT&color=&min_price=&drive=All+wheel+drive&max_mileage=&address=07503&advanced=y&end_year=1999&doors=&transmission=Manual&max_price=&cardist=13">1998 GSX</a>
its a 1998 with under 60k miles for only 2900?! I am like WTF?! I email the guy to ask him whats wrong with the car and he replies back in the email "Thank you for your recent intrest on my car! The car is a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse in perfect conditions without any mechanical problems . The price for the item is US $2,900.00. As a shipping career I will use DAS, all the shipping/handling and insurance charges are included in the sale price.You will get the package with all the papers, clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well. If you have any questions at all, please let me know and I will be more than willingto help you out! If you would like to go ahead with an order right away contact me via e-mail and i will let you know more about the transaction.
Thank you. "
Yea right I knew from the beginning this is too good to be true, so I email the guy back telling him I want to look over the car and test drive it, so then he emails me back saying "Fort Mill, SC is the location of the car. I`m not in US for the moment and the pick it up option is not avalable ! but i can shipp you the car. There is nothing wrong with the car ... i sell the car at this price because i recently moved from US to Glasgow with my whife who is from England and we intend to mary in UK and i sold my house over US and everything owned by me and the only thing to sell is the car. So if you want to make this deal i will need the folowing details from you:
-full name and address;
-shipping address;
-phone #
After i will have all this details i will forward them to AutoTrader and they will proced the order. You will be contacted by AutoTrader with all the instruction that you need to close the deal with me. So now all im waiting is your e-mail with the requested details so we can procede with the deal."
Ok yea right Im not that narrow pal. First of all the guys email is a free account, and it just happens to be eclipse1998 or something like that. Then listed it says the location of the seller is in NY, now that I want to test drive the car its all the way in SC. And you just happen to be out of the country how convenient. Yea, if the car has no problems and with that mileage you can sell that car in less than a week for at least 9k. Another thing is I can almost swear that Autotrader says on their website that they never get involved with the buyers and sellers. Yea so I am convinced that this is definately a scam. My doubt that this is a unique situation is .00000000000001%. Anyway I dont think im going to even bother to email the guy back. Am I right or am I being a little to paranoid? Just wanted to know if any of you guys heard of this kind of scam or had any experience with this.
Well the situation I was in was about 2 months ago and it was on Ebay for a 05' Yamaha R6. I already had my 99' R6 and all was good but then I came across this 05' R6 on ebay for $2700!!!!!!!! SO what did my dumb ass do?!?!? I decided to reply to this creep and the funniest thing is is that he gave the wrap with the whole "UK" bull$@#! Yeah he said he recently moved to the UK and all his stuff was in Philly and he NEEDED to get rid of his stuff quick. He sounded like he was loaded so I believed his story I figured maybe he got a good deal on the bike and isn't going to lose too much on this deal so I kept goin....
. So after I had my bike for sale and had several people lined up to buy it I decided to "talk" to this guy again. I asked him how the payment was to be paid and he replied " just transfer $2700 in cash to a cashiers check and send it to this address Bla bla bla. Oh yeah he was all buttering me up too with the "Sounds like we have a deal" and "I'm holding onto it for you" and how could I forget "Looks like we're starting to wrap this up"
my god the shysters out there!!!!! Then came the day where I wanted to show one of my friends a pic of it so I went to Ebay and tried looking up the item number it was and it said that either it has been sold or it had ended or something like that also it said "ABOVE ALL DO NOT send this person any money or CASHIERS CHECK because it will not fall under their warranty. So it took me like 1 second to realize what the hell I got myself into
. I emailed him asking if I could get some more pics and said I just wanna make sure I dont get scammed........I haven't heard from him since....people like that just deserve a good ol' beaten' I'm serious. Sorry for the long reply but hey its kinda funny that the two stories sound so familiar!!!! Bottom line SCREW IT report the person who is selling it and try to get him busted or something I wish I could do that now. Keep us updated
awesome I hope something becomes of this.
), it should be reflex to notify the site on which the car is listed.