The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

Auto Trans Question

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mini zilo

15+ Year Contributor
Jul 17, 2006
Chicago, Illinois
Well, I just got a shift kit, and a manual valve, and the pan gasket and filter kit from IPT. I've never done any work on any transmission before, and I was wondering, is it ok to reuse the transmission fluid if you drain it to do work? I realize that if you are down there you might as well change it, but here is what I plan to do:

Install my shift kit and manual valve and my new filter, and change the fluid.

Then a few weeks/one month later I plan to install an end clutch kit and a new transmission cooler. Would I be able to re use the fluid I drain to install these, since the fluid won't be too old it wouldn't make sense to change. Also, where do you fill the fluid for an AWD 2g trans?

Dude...Im a cheap ass...But even I wouldnt re-use that shit.

Its not hard to go to autozone, throw in some slighty cheaper fluid, then when you get it all back together for the last time, put the nicer stuff in.

But on the same note, as long as its clean, you can do whatever you want.

To fill generally you just pour into the dipstick. With any auto car.

Actually...Why dont you just wait and do everything at the same time??? Saves a lot of extra work. And time.

The reason I asked is because I also have no idea how much transmission fluid costs. How many quarts does are car take. I was planning on using OEM fluid. If its cheap I'll just buy new fluid the second time but if it's expensive I don't want to to spend double...