The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Arp 6-bolt Head Studs

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Flash

15+ Year Contributor
Feb 23, 2004
Scarborough, Maine
I was wondering if ARP 6-bolt head studs are reusable. I'm asking this because I was a
slacker when I replaced my block and never checked the head for flatness. Now after
1200 miles I have a blown headgasket. :mad:

Thanks for your reply! I'm a little new to engine building, so could you explain to me how to check for stretch? Do I just look at them? Or do I need to get the specs and measure their lengths? If I do need the specs, would you know what they are? Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks!

I certainly hope 6-bolt ARP head studs are reusable as I've had my head off half a dozen times since their original install... I don't think you should even bother with checking the stretch, IMHO. I never did. But you are having problems, and project_tsi knows substancially more than I:D . If you can't get the specs on their proper length, try eliminating other possible problems.

1. Did you loosen and retorque the studs in sequence after 5 heat cycles?

2. did you use moly lube or oil to torque them down? To what number did you torque them?

3. Why was the head off before the ARP stud install? Did you pop a HG then? Have you run a compression test and are you sure it is a HG failure?

The Flash said:
Thanks for your reply! I'm a little new to engine building, so could you explain to me how to check for stretch? Do I just look at them? Or do I need to get the specs and measure their lengths? If I do need the specs, would you know what they are? Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks!