The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Rix Racing

About as NEWBIE as you can get!!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SportbikFanatik

Probationary Member
May 13, 2003
FloridaUS
I am a total newbie to imports. I have owned 3 Mustangs since I was 16 and I am on my 4th now. It is time for some change for a little bit.

I have the opportunity to purchase a 1990 Eclipse(turbo) for $600. The body needs some work but that isnt the issue. I want to know if it would be worth it to buy and put a JDM swap in it. I am not looking to in the low 13's or anything like that yet I just want a nice Turbo daily driver when I don't feel like hoping on my sportbike.

So the question is should I buy it and how much work goes into doing the JDM swap including $. Thanks for the help!:thumb:

Don't worry about high miles, most of the DSM here have very high miles...Example my Galant has 150k and still pulls strong......Now for the leak on the turbo that is a diffrent story....check the oil lines it can be as simple as that or just replace it with a bigger one....lot cheaper than the whole engine swap....That's my opinion....
Welcome to the DSM world :dsm: :thumb: (I mean in a good way)

i agree just examin the turbo more closely.. it could be a simple fix, and reguardless of if it is or not you can buy a stock turbo or 16G cheap and be alot better off than a swap.

BTW My 90 Eagle Talon TSI has 175,000 miles on it and im not about to swap engines.

Originally posted by SportbikFanatik
I am a total newbie to imports. I have owned 3 Mustangs since I was 16 and I am on my 4th now. It is time for some change for a little bit.