The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

a couple fmic questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rocker_topper

10+ Year Contributor
Jan 11, 2012
marianna, Florida
Ok I'm looking into changing from my side mount intercooler to a fmic. I've been doing some thinking, and it makes sence that if your intercooler and piping has 2cubic feet of internal volume, and your making 15psi that when you change to more piping and a bigger intercooler your turbo would have to work harder to produce the same amount of pressure in the bigger intercooler system. is my theory correct or am I just overthinking things like I tend to do?

I'm no expert but I would think there would be just a tad bit of lag. But if your using a larger then stock turbo that pushes more air it shouldn't be that obvious. But if it's on the stock turbo would notice it slightly.

From my understanding a 16g pushing 15lbs of boost would be moving more air then a 14b at 15lbs.

I'm no expert but I would think there would be just a tad bit of lag. But if your using a larger then stock turbo that pushes more air it shouldn't be that obvious. But if it's on the stock turbo would notice it slightly.

From my understanding a 16g pushing 15lbs of boost would be moving more air then a 14b at 15lbs.

How much boost is the 14b capable of making? I've heard 20psi I've heard 12psi. also what is the factory turbo for the gst? 14b or t25? And what is the difference between the two? Sorry for all the questions just trying to get my reasoning straight.