The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

99 eclipse rs (420a) upgrade ideas

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bearkinz

Probationary Member
Aug 27, 2011
Gratis, Ohio
Hello,

I posted a thread this morning and got great responses and I am headed in the right direction with my eclipse. I have an RS and wanted to do a swap to 4g63 but it just doesnt seem reasonable without spending $4,000+ on it. I am replacing my clutch/throwout bearing next weekend and the weekend after that Id like to start building up the engine. It is totally stock and I am looking for a starting place to help me educate myself and learn the hobby. This is my first project and I want to learn how to do the work myself so I am looking for something that will give great HP boosts without getting too far in-depth technicality wise.

Ultimately Id like to end up with a turbo on my 420a and an upgraded fuel pump and BOV. But I know it is gonna take more than a stock engine to support that so where do I start guys?

I have money I intend to put into this each week so this isnt a wishlist just more of a timeline and a stepping stone project to help me learn.

I intend to document my progress eventually. Week 1 - clutch replacement/throwout bearing, Week 2- ???

Oh wow PERFECT. I searched like 420a upgrades etc... o nthe forums and didnt find anything. Thankssssss I love this place.

Anytime. Although i think you should have searched a little harder. This same question comes up a lot. Good luck. And make sure you do a lot of research before you do any mods.