The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

97 tsi rear end/axle problems

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nunke89

Probationary Member
May 26, 2010
Bloomer, Wisconsin
Ok so here's the story.. I bought a 97 Talon tsi awd 5 speed a few months ago and recently started driving it. When I first drove it it seemed to drive fine with no major noises or anything. After driving it for a while it started shifting hard into first and sometimes second. I took it to my local shop to look into the problem since i'm new to DSM's and also new to awd. They recommended changing the fluid before doing anything major and that helped the shifting problem for the most part but not completely. That's not what I'm worried about now though. After driving it a clunking noise was coming from the rear end, also I could hear my rotors rubbing when i would turn. It would rub on the side i was turning toward. The shop looked at it again and found that the people who had the car before me didn't put the axle nut back on the right side! I assume they did this because they tried pounding the rusted rear axle out of the hub with no luck so they just threw it back together to sell. I purchased a new axle and also a new rear hub unit since the shop couldn't get the old axle out. The new axle only came with the outer joint and the shop used the old inner joint/stub on the new axle. I got the car back and the clunking noise started again but the rotors don't rub anymore. I took a look under the car and noticed the new axle they installed was out of the rear end a little and seemed a little loose compared to the drivers side. It has a lsd rear end and the previous owner state