The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support STM Tuned

6 bolt head build

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nuclearr

15+ Year Contributor
Jun 22, 2004
Slidell, Louisiana
I am looking to build a head for my 6 bolt trying to figure out what kind of valve springs and lifters to use. I have a 280degree BC cam picked out. Also trying to decied weather or not to go with dual valve springs or not would like to know if any one is runing dual springs and if there is any head modification need for them. I know on my freinds Ford 2.3L he has to have the head milled to fit the dual springs. Any help would be greatly apreciated OH just in case any one asks i am going to try and hit 600hp with my car. Yeah I know its hard to do. I have a garret t/3 t/4 hybrid waitin to go on this car.

I pulled this straight off of SBRs website while looking at the BC 280s,"MUST USE with Brian Crower Spring and Retainer Kit # BC 0100 ", there should be no milling needed, and as for lifters you will be fine with revised lifters off SBr($149), there is no need for solid lifters like those from big len products, unless you are making 80+whp, and staying above 8500rpm. Also Im not doubting or anything but how are you going to hit 600hp on a turbo thats air flow is rated to support from 250hp-500hp, just wondering how you will be pulling the 600hp off, if it was a straight t4, I could see that, but not this hybrid.

Dustin

Yeah the T/3 T/4 won't get your anywhere near 600whp. And as far as the cams go you really need to use the springs/retainer kit because of the lift and design of the cam. You can use the stock springs but I would highly advise against it.