The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

3D print a bracket for the engine compartment maybe?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arfbarkyPrime

Proven Member
Aug 27, 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan
I'm trying to figure out how to mount a pair of oil catchcans. I have space over by the battery and fuses. I can fit a sort of T-shaped bracket, there's an empty bolt hole in a couple places. The top bar of the T would need to be angled back about 45 degrees but it seems like if I bolt it down at the three ends, it would be pretty secure.

I have zero experience with 3D printing ... is this something that I could model and get printed? What would be the best material for this? I have a good cardboard mockup I can take measurements from and model.

The other option would be to weld something up, but while I have a MIG welder I have almost zero experience with that too! Haven't gotten around to it....

What do you think?

plastic unless an ABS type would not last with the vibrations and bouncing of the can, im pretty sure i use one of the same spots and i just made a metal bracket and clamped to it originally. you can bend some steel or alloy sheet to what you need and then wont need to worry about any printing also

3D printing is an option if you can do the modeling and have a printer (or send it out to print).
I have printed many parts for my vehicles.
I would recommend nylon (PA) for under the hood applications.
Nylon has a high heat deflection temperature (HDT) of 255C, compared to ABS 88C.
I prefer MulltiJet Fusion (MJF) for most under the hood printed parts, but have two large FDM printers that I use with engineering grade materials as well.

Best,
Alan