The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

2G 2g 7 bolt head on 6 bolt block swap in 95 gsx

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoCure4TheItch

Probationary Member
May 12, 2009
kansas city, Missouri
i found one post that was like this but only looking for timing belt.
this might be just newbie stuff but im new to the dsm cars.

long story short i have a 1995 gsx dumb shit before me dumped the clutch and broke the timing belt along with trying to start it 20 times after. i have a good idea the head has seen its last day.

what i am trying to do is swap a 1991 6 bolt. (i can get a long block w/out ex manifold from a friend) but wanted to use a new (still need to find) 2g head. i will use the stock 2g int/ex manifolds (or evo3/smiler ex manifold) , stock 2g tb, stock turbo (unless i can get a pte 50/54 trim for cheap). stock fuel pump and injectors for now. stock side mount intercooler for now.

so here is my questions!
will this work?
do i need to change the head bolts? (if so to what)
can i use the stock 2g ecu or will it need modification to run?
would the 2g coil pack work?

other than the questions i ask what else do i need or is good to know? or what would you do?

Thanks
-Michael

Yeah it can be done, it should use the same stuff on the 2g head that it currently uses. Since your still using your original head you can use your original sensors and everything. You will need to switch to 6 bolt head studs and drill the headstud holes in your head from 11mm to 12mm. Here is a thread on the 6 bolt swap. 6 bolt swap.