1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

09 Impala I/P died while driving after new bat and alt.

Posted by 3Burritos, Dec 1, 2019

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
  1. 3Burritos

3Burritos Probationary Member

Joined Dec 1, 2019
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Hey guys, total car noob here and cannot find any info anywhere about this...
    In the last 3 days I have replaced the battery and alternator in my 09 Impala I/P with 140k miles on it.
    Tonight when I went to flip the high beams on, my car died and after the panic of no brakes or steering and no shoulder to get over, it started back up with no issues minus battery svc mssg and battery light. I got home and checked the battery because my mom suggested maybe it was the wrong one and this one is CC 600 and like RC 120 whereas my old one was like CC 1000 RC 900. Could this be the problem? I don't even know what to do anymore and so broke after all this that it hurts.
    Sorry for being ignorant and tyvm for your time and expertise beforehand.

2. buddahboost

buddahboost Proven Member

Joined Aug 15, 2007
    CHICAGO HEIGHTS, Illinois
    Bad ground. Make sure they are clean. Are the battery terminals clean as well?

If you turn the car on and disconnect the battery, does it shut off? Might be a bad alternator.

1990TSIAWDTALON and lglracer like this.
  3. BLACK'98DSM

BLACK'98DSM Proven Member

Joined Feb 9, 2019
    Hoover, Alabama
    It could also be ecu problems, but lets try everything else first.

Road Race Build 2K  25

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse N/T
    fwd · manual · 2G DSM

388  3

2012 Murray Explorer Dune