The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

what is the diffrence between a JDM 4G63 and a common 4G63?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ECLIPSE95

20+ Year Contributor
Nov 13, 2002
Missoula, Montana
I will be picking up an eagle talon TSI AWD soon..guess I got bit by the boost and AWD bug at the same time..I am a newbie to 4G63 engines but not to DSMs..what I am not sure on is what engine to buy for this car..since it has none..I was looking around at some used engines on Ebay and one is a JDM 4G63 and it comes with everything that I need..but my question is..are the parts interchangable from a JDM 4G63 to a regular stock 4G63? so if I were to order an aftermarket turbo it would bolt up the same way right? and whats the diffrence from a JDM 4G63 from a regular stock 4G63? can somebody explain this to me..thankz in advance for any help...~Dustin

yes they are interchangeable..but the jdm motors come with the cyclone intake...imo I would just use a 1g intake manifold or a nice sheetmetal intake..or hell a 2g usdm one...and if your lucky you might get a jdm motor with a 16g turbo and some I beleive is 550cc injectors..or 505 I dont remember

everything is pretty much the same from the jdm and the usdm 4g63's exept on the jdm motor the intake manifold is different. Which wont really gain you anything if you install the jdm intake manifolf and you would be better off with the usdm intake manifold anyways.

Originally posted by Kinetic Boost