Waste gate Solenoid and bosst control?

Posted by davidalindsey, Jan 26, 2010
Newbie Forum - Beginner/newbie/general DSM modification questions. First mods, how to run 10's when you haven't run 12's yet, any tech question that doesn't fit in another tech forum.

  1. davidalindsey

    davidalindsey Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Norfolk, Virginia
    As I just got my 98 GST I am doing the Stage 0 upgrade path and I got a problem with step 7, Removing the BCS Restrictor.
    Well not so much the Restrictor but the lines that go to and from the solenoid are missing. The waste gate selenoid is just sitting there with no lines hooked up to it.
    The line from the wastegate is connected straight to the j-pipe. Is there any adverse affects with this?
    I plan on getting some hose later and routing them to factory spec, is it okay to drive they way it is hooked up now?
    Also I found this in the car it looks to be some kind of boost controller, I have'nt seen one like this. is it missing a piece? I would not know how to adjust it...
    Thanks.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Ha just realized I miss spelled boost, man i'm tired.
    #1
  2. LiquidX

    LiquidX DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Posts:
    6,591
    Likes Received:
    78
    New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
    Everything is fine the way it's hooked up. The picture you posted doesn't appear to be a MBC but it does have a flow direction however. :hmm:
    #2
  3. davidalindsey

    davidalindsey Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Norfolk, Virginia
    Maybe its just a tee? On the back side it says "Arrow points towards wastegate actuator".
    #3
  4. synthetek

    synthetek Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    13
    La palma, California
    Its fine to drive without it hooked up, the wastegate actuator will control the boost (I think its 7psi on a stock T25) with the BCS you would get a few more psi. The BCS was probably disconnected because someone had a manual boost controller installed before. That boost controller looks like its missing the knob. If you plan on getting a new boost controller you will not need to re connect the BCS.
    #4
  5. t25fury

    t25fury Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    richmond, Texas
    having the wastegate actuator connected straight to a boost source(j-pipe,the way you have it now) will only allow as much boost the stock wastegate spring will allow.In the first pic,the part with the white arrow is a boost controller,seems to be missing the knob to adjust boost,the part next to it looks to be your stock boost control solenoid,since you have a 2g,you should reinstall(just the wires) it to avoid getting a check engine light,if you don't have one already.


    edit: ack,synthetek beat me to it
    #5
  6. jeffo

    jeffo Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hobe Sound, Florida
    The purpose of the BCS is to bleed off some of the boost pressure, raising the amount of boost it takes to open the wastegate. When the ECU hears too much knock, it closes off the BCS, to lower the boost. Without the BCS installed you are stuck at the stock pressure of the wastegate, which is only ~7psi. You really need to get your manual boost controller installed so you can put the boost back up where it belongs.
    #6
  7. davidalindsey

    davidalindsey Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Norfolk, Virginia
    Oh okay, thanks guys. I will get some emission hose from advance auto parts tomorrow and just route the lines to factory spec for now. I dont trust using the red thing cause I see no way of adjusting it.
    #7
  8. LiquidX

    LiquidX DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Posts:
    6,591
    Likes Received:
    78
    New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
    As we all stated, you don't need to run the BCS at all, just get a new MBC and put it at 14psi after you get a boost gauge.
    #8
  9. davidalindsey

    davidalindsey Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Norfolk, Virginia
    UPDATE:
    I Removed the BCS restrictor and hooked up some lines to factory spec.
    The car holds 100KPA/14PSI to red line.
    If I get a MBC how much boost can I run safety?
    I was looking at a HALLMAN PRO KIT from STM, are they any good?
    #9
  10. LiquidX

    LiquidX DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Posts:
    6,591
    Likes Received:
    78
    New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
    15psi without upgrading fuel.
    #10
  11. davidalindsey

    davidalindsey Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Norfolk, Virginia
    Thats it... Well It would'nt do me much now to get a boost controller then.
    #11

Share This Page