The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support Rix Racing

Wanli tire vs. Cooper Zeon ZPT

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My99LaserAWD

20+ Year Contributor
May 2, 2002
D-Block, Connecticut
Has anyone ever heard of Wanli tires? i really need some kinda information on them

I've been running them for about two months now. Not the greatest performance tire in the world, but it's hard to beat the price. They have a soft sidewall compared to the Sumitomo HTRZ II's I had before. I love the tread pattern though.

Straight line traction is decent as I just cut some low 1.8 60' times (un-preped track) and it was my first time launching with this car at a track.

I'm running 225/45/17 size. Wanli S-1099's.

Hope that helps.

Mike

those are exactly the ones im thinking of getting, would u buy them again or would u go with something else?

Well, they serve my purpose well, which is: they look good, straight line traction seems decent, and the price is great.

This is my commuter/daily driver car so they work well and noise level is better than the Sumitomo's I had before. I think it boils down to what you want from the tires. If you like the twisties you won't like these tires because the softer sidewalls flex too much and don't give a "connected" feeling. They are not horrible, but they don't hold a candle to the ZR Sumitomo or some ZR Continentals I've had before.

Overall I'd rate the Wanli tires as follows: 1= worse, 10= best

Sidewall Stiffness: 7.0
Traction Dry: 7.5
Traction Wet: don't know yet
Noise level: 8
Looks: 9.5
Rim guard: 9
Wear: don't know yet

Here is how I'd rate the Sumitomo HTRZII:

Sidewall Stiffness: 9.5
Traction Dry: 9.0
Traction Wet: 8.0