Thermostat location -(no, found it)

Posted by lngbrdr, Feb 12, 2005
Newbie Forum - Beginner DSM modification questions and discussions. Common, repetitive, and general discussions will get dumped here from other tech forums. Unless you're a Probationary member you shouldn't post threads here.

  1. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    I need to replace my thermostat but I forgot my repair manual back at my dorms, so where is the thermostat located? Any help is greatly appreciated.
    #1
  2. 91gvr4

    91gvr4 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Omaha,, Nebraska
    look at your radiator, follow the top hose to the water neck, Undo the top 2 bolts and then lift up. Ahhh, there she is, pop her out, lay new gasket down. Drive away happy.
    #2
  3. tsitalon92

    tsitalon92 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amherst, Ohio
    Grab the upper radiator hose and follow it from the radiator back to the engine. When you get to the end of the hose, you are at the thermostat housing. Open that up and there it is.
    #3
  4. tsitalon92

    tsitalon92 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amherst, Ohio
    You beat me to it by like a minute. :p
    #4
  5. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    Undid the top two bolts like on the pics but there is no thermostat there and the thermostat would be too big to fit there.

    Attached Files:

    #5
  6. trevor_shiggs

    trevor_shiggs Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Duncan, B.C._Canada
    you must have the wrong thermostat then because thats where she goes.
    #6
  7. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    Are you guys refering to a 2g?
    #7
  8. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    Right on the side of where the top radiater hose goes to looks like it would be big enough to house the thermostat, so is that where it is?

    Attached Files:

    #8
  9. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    And when I bought the thermostat from Autozone it didnt come with any kind of gasket do I really need one?
    #9
  10. lngbrdr

    lngbrdr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    melbourne, Florida
    Okay figured it out the dang thing is on the side like on the last pic. And finally the dang thig works like it is supposed to instead of just staying at the middle and then in extreme cases jumping all the way up to hot.
    #10
  11. RamenPride

    RamenPride Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    36
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    that rubber ring is the gasket
    #11
  12. endlessMyk

    endlessMyk Proven Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    3
    State College, Pennsylvania
    You might wanna get a new gasket.... there's another one (besides that rubber one) that is more diamond shaped.. it'd be all hard and crusty peeling off...
    #12
  13. jas510

    jas510 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Union City, California
    sorry to bring this post from the grave..but is this for a 2g eclipse? I followed the instructions as it says but i didnt see the thermo..am i doing this wrong

    i have a 96 GST
    #13
  14. 19Eclipse90

    19Eclipse90 DSM Wiseman

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    3,434
    Likes Received:
    129
    OKC, Oklahoma
    The thermostat should be in the location pictured in post #8. If it is not there, it has been removed which is a band-aid fix for cooling problems. Throw one in and keep an eye on the temperature gauge.
    #14
  15. dsmtun3r98gst

    dsmtun3r98gst Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Westminster, California
    Yes just unbolt the 2 bolts on the side and it "should" be there(make sure you drain your coolant first). Just make sure you replace the seal and use a little bit of rtv sealant on the mating surface on the cap just to get a better seal and cleap up any old gasket sealer if there is any.

    I would recommend that you get the OEM thermostat as well. If you compare the parts store thermostat to the OEM one you see how much superior the OEM one is :thumb:
    #15
  16. jas510

    jas510 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Union City, California
    Great. I broke the bolt when trying to tightening it! Hate it when a simple job gets complicating.
    Thanks for the help folks, I'll put a new thermo on there after I tap and die the broken bolt!!
    #16
  17. jas510

    jas510 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Union City, California
    ahh...the car didnt have a thermostat, so i put one in.
    #17

Share This Page