Strut Squeak

Posted by DearestNameless, Apr 13, 2011
Newbie Forum - Beginner DSM modification questions and discussions. Common, repetitive, and general discussions will get dumped here from other tech forums. Unless you're a Probationary member you shouldn't post threads here.

  1. DearestNameless

    DearestNameless Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Linton, Indiana
    My car has been squeaking like when I hit bumps or turn corners and now its worse then ever I can push on the fender, shut the door, or turn the wheel all the time and get it to squeak. I took it to the shop and they said it was the front drivers side strut and mount. A price of 207 + tax for the parts and 200+ for labor. I'm not even sure this is the problem. What should I do I looked up KYB GR-2s and I can get a set of 4 for 198$ shipped. I asked them and they said they would put on aftermarket parts but at 200+ a strut thats like 800 bucks. So I guess basically should I trust that the shop diagnosed it right? Should I order the KYB struts? Should I pay them to do it or do it myself? And lastly how do I do it? Thanks.
    #1
  2. forcdndukshun

    forcdndukshun Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    eugene, Oregon
    I would look pillow mount bushing. If your handy you can rent a spring compressor and do the work yourself. It is really easy to change the struts. Last time I had a sqeak it was the bushing and not the strut, but like I said before they are super easy to change in an afternoon if it happens to be the strut.
    #2
  3. Bud92gsx

    Bud92gsx Supporting Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,807
    Likes Received:
    18
    Your moms house, BC_Canada
    You miz well pay the shop to put in the struts, unless its only a 20 mile drive to the shop..Remember your going to need a full 4 wheel allignment after install..
    #3
  4. AK Thunder

    AK Thunder Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anchorage, Alaska
    if you have access to a spring compressor, do it yourself, its very easy to R&R struts, that is if you have a way to safely remove the spring.
    #4
  5. Black3G

    Black3G Supporting Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downers Grove, Illinois
    Sounds like the strut mount.
    #5
  6. forcdndukshun

    forcdndukshun Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    eugene, Oregon
    You don't need a 4 wheel align afterward unless you are changing the ride hieght.
    #6
  7. sypherzero

    sypherzero Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Marion, North_Carolina
    Are you sure? I changed a shock mount on my old Pulsar and after everything was back together, it seemed like the alignment was off a bit, and it wasn't before the repair.
    #7
  8. DearestNameless

    DearestNameless Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Linton, Indiana
    Okay I called them back and told them I was going to be purchasing the 4 struts. They said they would install them all in 6 hours @ 60$ a hour for a total of 360$.

    Is it worth it to even bother changing them myself. I need to car ASAP but I do have something to drive for now. I do not have a way to compress the springs unless Autozone would have one for rent, which I doubt. But I'm always down for learning and trying new things.

    If someone could tell me if its worth the time vs money saved that would be great. Also they said if I purchased them myself I would need 4 struts and the mounts.

    Do the eBay KYB GR-2 kits come with the mounts? If not where do I buy these? Is there anything else they will need for the install or something else I should replace while I'm there as well?

    Thanks again.

    This is what I plan to buy so far:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/KYB-...ptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories
    #8
  9. chuckstsi

    chuckstsi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    East Hartford, Connecticut
    Just my two cents, but when my car had the same symptoms it was the lower lateral arms ball joint...
    #9
  10. forcdndukshun

    forcdndukshun Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    eugene, Oregon
    I can't speak for the pulsar but I do know that if the ride hieght is not changed then the aligment should not change.


    It would save you 360.00 to change them yourself. How handy are you I would say that if you have any mechanic skill at all it shouldn't be that hard and could probably be done in four hours. You can rent the spring compressor tool from Autozone. As I recall there is a 50 deposit on it. As for the bushing I had Autozone order them for me.
    #10
  11. russ96gst

    russ96gst Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    keaau, Hawaii
    Its really easy to do yourself, auto-zone actually just let me borrow the spring compressor for free. I wouldn't pay that much for them to do it. Just my opinion.
    #11
  12. Bud92gsx

    Bud92gsx Supporting Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,807
    Likes Received:
    18
    Your moms house, BC_Canada
    Ya now that I think about it, you should change them out yourself.Just rent the spring compressor..Like stated before it will save you over 300 bucks..But then your still going to have to get the alignment done afterward..
    #12
  13. hypergenesis

    hypergenesis Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Posts:
    693
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tracy, California
    Honestly with eclipses the suspension is sooooo easy to do. I just did coilovers on 2 GTI's and boy can I tell you what a pain it is with those, even if you dont have a basic knowledge of cars its pretty simple to figure out the mechanics of what needs to go where. Also where are you going to get your strut mounts from? I am having the same problem but haven't been able to find it from one of our bigger vendors, Rather support the ones supporting us than a random site.
    #13
  14. DearestNameless

    DearestNameless Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Linton, Indiana
    IDK where to find them even.

    I think Autozone has them for 14 bucks so I think I'm going to go that route.

    Do I need to replace the bump stops at 15 each or the bushings at 10 each?
    #14
  15. iTzBRYANT113

    iTzBRYANT113 Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Carlisle, Ohio
    So I know this post may be old but maybe I could get a response. My talon is now doing the same thing and its extremely embarrassing! anyhow my replace just the struts did it fix it for you? I was more in the line of thinking it would have been my coils for my struts.
    But then once people started saying it could be the strut mounts which one is it? I honestly don't want to replace all this considering it will get up in the $300 price range so if its just the strut mount could someone please tell me if it was for them?
    #15

Share This Page