Stripped bolt hole on transmission

Posted by Jdabishop, Jan 25, 2013
Maintenance & Repairs - Oil choices, timing belt, setting timing, CV boot replacement, alternator servicing, fuse/relay checks, and other basic maintenance, repair and diagnosis discussions.

  1. Jdabishop

    Jdabishop Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    Cant find anything regarding this so here goes.

    Recently installed new transmission into my 2g Talon auto and while screwing in one of the bolts it stripped on the tranny where the piece has to sit in the engine.(Sorry forgot the name )

    My question is how do I go about fixing this? Helicoil is the only thing close that ive found that looks promising.

    Thanks for the help
    #1
  2. RvlutionMtrsprt

    RvlutionMtrsprt Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    17
    Eugene, Oregon
    Helicoil should work just fine.
    #2
  3. Jdabishop

    Jdabishop Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    Now will I have to drill it out? also might be a dumb question but what size would I need
    #3
  4. bryanwheat

    bryanwheat DSM Wiseman

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    6,937
    Likes Received:
    140
    Columbia, Missouri
    Which bolt is it exactly. Helicoils work real well. There is a version that Autozone carries that is the same thing, but less than half the price. Around 25 bucks for the kit.
    #4
  5. Jdabishop

    Jdabishop Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    The piece on the tranny that needs to rest on the motor I forgot the name of it.

    but that bolt and I was told its a 14x1.25
    #5
  6. RvlutionMtrsprt

    RvlutionMtrsprt Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    17
    Eugene, Oregon
    Yes you have to drill it. The kits come with the right size drill bit, the tap, and the helicoils with install tool. I don't know the size of the drill bit and tap for a 14x1.25 off the top of my head. As long as you are correct about the size and pitch of the bolt that needs to go in the hole and purchase the right thread repair kit it should have the proper bit and tap.
    #6
  7. bryanwheat

    bryanwheat DSM Wiseman

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    6,937
    Likes Received:
    140
    Columbia, Missouri
    A 14x1.25 on the trans? The trans mount uses a 12x1.25, but there is nothing i can think of on the trans that uses a 14mm bolt. You need to be more specific. It is impossible to tell what you are talking about.
    #7
  8. Jdabishop

    Jdabishop Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    [​IMG]

    That bolt right there
    #8
  9. bryanwheat

    bryanwheat DSM Wiseman

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    6,937
    Likes Received:
    140
    Columbia, Missouri
    That is a 10x1.25. You will need to remove the transmission in order to install the helicoil if you go that route.
    #9
  10. Jdabishop

    Jdabishop Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    Well is there another option? It was a pain getting in there also the metal piece isnt sitting in and I cant seem to push it in or anything but this is my first dsm so tips and tricks would be appreciated
    #10
  11. bryanwheat

    bryanwheat DSM Wiseman

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    6,937
    Likes Received:
    140
    Columbia, Missouri
    Try a longer bolt.
    #11
  12. born2tune

    born2tune Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Posts:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    clarksville, Tennessee
    Since you want options, You could finish stripping out the threads and use a longer bolt that will pass the block and use a nut with washer. you would still clamp it together like that but dont comeback complaining that it was a ghetto idea.
    #12
  13. immortalmcf

    immortalmcf Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    miami, Florida
    ghetto but it works ROFL
    #13
  14. I Can Bike

    I Can Bike Probationary Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spokane, Washington
    yep same here i have a 1992 FWD Laser 4G63 and i had a problem with the bolt going through the transmission mount and connecting the mount to the transmission housing. i ended up drilling all of the way through the casing (not anywhere near the actual gear housing) and just running an 18mm bolt all of the way through to the bottom and a washer and bolt on reallllly tight did the trick for me.
    #14
  15. GDNF2ET

    GDNF2ET Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Posts:
    525
    Likes Received:
    5
    VA Beach, Virginia
    If the trans is not seated up all the way to the engine, you need to loosen all the other bolts and rock the trans till it seats up all the way....
    I hope you seated the converter all the way in....That is, spin and push the converter till it meshes on the two gears...It usually takes 2 clicks and its all the way in....
    #15

Share This Page