The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support STM Tuned

2G shift points on a 98 gst

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LaMont Randell

Proven Member
Mar 7, 2015
Bowling Green, Kentucky
I'm new to having a turbo car. I was trying to figure out what the shift points would be. Do I shift right before red line and is this OK to do in first gear as well?

Depends on your driving style. Normal driving, I usually shift around 3k, spirited driving, 5-6k, all out running hard, max rev limit. Stock rev limit is 7200, so for you, would say max rpm shift would be 7k.

once you crank up the boost on the smaller turbos youll find no point revving so high, cause they run out of breath up top. im not sure if its necessary to rev to 7000 in stock form.
you wont hurt your engine revving to redline, but it does make it harder to shift. you probably wouldnt be any slower shifting at 6500

once you crank up the boost on the smaller turbos youll find no point revving so high, cause they run out of breath up top. im not sure if its necessary to rev to 7000 in stock form.
you wont hurt your engine revving to redline, but it does make it harder to shift. you probably wouldnt be any slower shifting at 6500

I have the big 16 turbo and it seems to not spool up until sometime after 5000. I'm not exactly sure when. Haven't driven it that much, but you say around 6500 is fine Or since I have the bigger turbo should I shift around 7000. I am running 15 psi

Depends on your driving style. Normal driving, I usually shift around 3k, spirited driving, 5-6k, all out running hard, max rev limit. Stock rev limit is 7200, so for you, would say max rpm shift would be 7k.