Retorquing Arp head bolts (nuts)

Posted by 44pirate, Feb 4, 2006
Newbie Thread Graveyard - Repetitive questions already answered in the FAQ Forum, Tech Articles, other New Member required reading, VFAQ.com, etc. This is a read-only forum. If your thread ends up here, you didn't do the required reading.

  1. 44pirate

    44pirate Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    6
    CAPE CORAL, Florida
    Engine has 2000 miles on it. Is it OK to retorque the head bolts?
    #1
  2. brute

    brute Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    37
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Like take them out and put them back in? Because in that case, your answer would be NO. When you first put ARP studs in and torque them to spec, they stretch allowing for a better hold. Therefore, taking them out and putting them back in won't work.
    #2
  3. blackGSX2g

    blackGSX2g DSM Wiseman

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    79
    Holland, Michigan
    No he means like put a torque wrench on them and make sure they are still to spec.

    This is not necessary, but yet some people still decide to do it without any ill consequences.

    ARP studs should not stretch, and they are re-useable. Perhaps you are thinking of the stock 2g 4g63 head bolts that are torque to yield and stretch.
    #3
  4. 44pirate

    44pirate Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    6
    CAPE CORAL, Florida
    #4
  5. keltalon

    keltalon Supporting VIP

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    119
    Newnan,Atlanta, Georgia
    If you followed arp torque to yield instruction there is no need to retorque the head bolts. Their instruction give you proper bolt stretch for the size studs that fit our cars. The only time a arp or any head bolts need to be retorque is if you a using a copper head gasket, the reason, it has a tendency after the first heat cycle to change a little bit therefore the head studs needs to the back off one by one and retorque to ensure the copper gasket will provide the seal that it should.
    #5
  6. Defiant

    Defiant DSM Wiseman

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    25,202
    Likes Received:
    92
    glorious Galt, California
    2006





    :rolleyes:

    How in the hell do you people even find these threads?​
    #6

Share This Page