[RESOLVED] Radio has power but wont turn on. New and old.

Posted by diatenshi, Aug 22, 2008
Newbie Forum - Beginner/newbie/general DSM modification questions. First mods, how to run 10's when you haven't run 12's yet, any tech question that doesn't fit in another tech forum.

  1. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Hey everyone. I am having some radio issues. I have a 95 GST, radio says infinity on it, has the standard connector on it, but 2 other looks like maybe a 9 pin, and maybe a 15pin round ones on the back.

    I accidentally locked out the factory, which is ok, was replacing it anyways. Put in the new headunit....nothing!

    I was like ok, checked fuses, all good. Checked the voltage, got 11.8 on the power. I plugged the factory back in, now it gets Nothing! :confused: atleast before it had, "Off"

    I tried the new one again, nothing.

    Checked all fuses again (the radio one under the hood, and under the dash.) Still have 11.8 volts, but nothing on either radio.

    Anything I am missing??
    #1
  2. kris_stewart10

    kris_stewart10 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Picayune, Mississippi
    possibly your yellow memory wire or the red power wire

    you tell me
    #2
  3. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Both hooked up and giving power.
    #3
  4. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    The 2 other plugs are more than likely for a factory amp. If so you will have to bypass it for an after market head unit to work. Never done it on a 2g before some times you have to run new wire to each speaker and some times you can buy an adapter to by pass it or to work with it.

    If you have power then the only that would cause the head unit not to come on would be the ground. You can test it by finding a ground on a piece of metal behind the radio and hooking or just holding it on it.
    #4
  5. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Tested ground, its good. : \ thats why I am so confused. The infinity system would not keep this from atleast powering up would it??
    #5
  6. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    It is possible. Have you tried twisting all 4 yellow and red wires together.
    #6
  7. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    no D :

    the yellow i think only gives 5 volts, i don't think that would be a good idea.
    #7
  8. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    No they all are supposed to put out 12v the difference is the one is always on and the other is only on with the key.
    #8
  9. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    Here is what each factory wire color is also showing both power wires are 12v.

    It came from: 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse Car Stereo Wiring Diagram

    1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse Car Stereo Wiring Diagram

    Car Radio Battery Constant 12v+ Wire: Red/Black
    Car Radio Accessory Switched 12v+ Wire: Blue
    Car Radio Ground Wire: Chassis
    Car Radio Illumination Wire: Green/White
    Car Stereo Dimmer Wire: Black/Yellow
    Car Stereo Antenna Trigger Wire: White/Black
    Car Stereo Amp Trigger Wire: N/A
    Car Stereo Amplifier Location: N/A
    Car Audio Front Speakers Size: 5 1/4″
    Car Audio Front Speakers Location: Doors
    Left Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black/White
    Left Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Black
    Right Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black/White
    Right Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Black
    Car Audio Rear Speakers Size: 6″ x 9″
    Car Audio Rear Speakers Location: Side Panels
    Left Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Yellow/Blue
    Left Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): Gray/Blue
    Right Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Yellow/Red
    Right Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): Gray/Red
    #9
  10. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    That doesn't really make sense!

    "Left Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black/White
    Left Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Black
    Right Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black/White
    Right Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Black"

    Both left and right are said to be black/white?

    I guess I will just have to pull her out tomorrow and check and rewire it again.
    #10
  11. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    That for the factory wires not the adapter plug that was bought to put it the radio.
    #11
  12. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Ah got ya.
    #12
  13. spaugh

    spaugh Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    50%
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    london, Kentucky
    Here is the harness you will need to keep your factory amp.
    MITSUBISHI RADIO AMPLIFIER INTERGRATION HARNESS. :: WIRE HARNESS (MITSUBISHI) :: *WIRE HARNESSES :: Dash Kits Harnesses :: AUTOTOYS


    It looks like you have to run your own ground because the factory harness does not have one.
    #13
  14. juanjose

    juanjose Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    miami, Florida
    i had the same problem once but a friend of mine told me the some cars have the gound with the antenna all i did was hook up the antenna and problem solve hope this solve your problem.
    #14
  15. RedTurboEclipse

    RedTurboEclipse Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    23
    Bay Area, California
    first of all are you using a harness to install your new stereo. if so, it should be plain and simple. the harness should give you proper color leads that match to your new stereo's wiring. red to red, yellow to yellow, thats ign power, and memory constant. there is no ground, you will have to find a ground in the chassis.

    those 3 wires connected properly alone should turn on the deck no problem. hell my setup only uses those wires because i'm runing aftermarket amps powering everything. now if those wires are correct and still nothing, check the fuse on the deck. its that small one usually by the harness. make sure the key is turned on to acc. if the aftermarket deck has a reset button, press that if it still isn't turning on.

    that eBay link to that harness spaugh posted is if you are trying to keep your stock amp and integrate it with your new deck. meaning, those advertised 200-300watt power (really only 12-22watt rms x 4) that the amp says it has will not be used. Also by using that harness in the link, you get to keep your dash speakers working without worrying on how to wire them, also just less wiring in general--more plug and play, and you get who knows how much power that the stock amp provides--but i will tell you after playing with several decks, even deck power from new decks seem to provide more power and better quality than the stock amp (no one has concrete data on how much they actually put out).

    But back to your problem, 3 wires alone should turn on your new deck. If not, make sure the deck didn't fail. also if putting the stock back and that doesn't work, make sure all the cables attached to the stock deck is also connected and see if it turns on. If that turns on, its your deck or wiring.

    If you are absolutely sure you aren't at fault with the wiring, then you will have to investigate further.
    #15
  16. Defiant

    Defiant DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    25,202
    Likes Received:
    92
    glorious Galt, California
    #16
  17. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Hey guys, thanks for the responses. I am going to check everything again today since theres more light then at 9pm using my phone as a light.

    No fuses were lost in the process and ground is good.

    I will see what happens after the rewire.
    #17
  18. diatenshi

    diatenshi Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tampa, Florida
    Resolved - -

    Its odd, the ground was actually bolted to bare metal down at the bottom of the bay in which the radio sits with a u-connector, and I physically checked it as well as with a volt meter, i used the same wire as the ground for the meter and it showed plenty of voltage flow. I regrounded it with a new wire to different metal, fired right up, XM kicked in, speakers worked just fine even with infinity. I assume a past owner rewired it for the amp issue? The factory radio was in the trunk, thats why I figured.

    Thanks to everyone who helped. Moral of the story is, even if your ground looks great, and you get great voltage, it may not be D:

    P.S. That does not explain why my stock radio did not work when I put it back in. :confused::confused:

    It still had no power, and nothing to do with that ground wire.
    #18

Share This Page