The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support ExtremePSI

Registering a car out of state to avoid smog?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My car is registered out of state, but Im still a resident of Wisconsin. Im in the military though, so it may be easier for me. Im not positive how it would be for someone on the civilian side. Claiming residency and such while living in a different state. The good thing for me is the police dome mess with me because Im from out of state.. Ive seen people get pulled over and state rev tickets for having mods on their cars. So, that to me would be the only upside Ive seen here. However, Im supposed to have smog done to get tags for my base. But I snuck around it shhh :thumb:

Anyone else have some civilian side input??

Legally, you can't do it yourself if you are not a resident of that state. I too am military and my state of residence is not California. Basically, you would have to have someone's name on your title or loan on the vehicle that reside in that state in order to register the car there legally. I wanted to put my wife's car in GA just to lower the registration, but I am not on the loan with her, so we can't do it.

The one thing the cops can still get you for even if you are out of state is noise ordinance. And if they really want to dig deeper into it, they can look up your state's laws to see if you are within your states regs. But 99.9% of the time they have much better things to do!

So if I have a friend who lives in Las Vegas, NV. And their smog laws are much easier than CA. I will have to change the title to his name, but I hve been able to put 2 names on the title cant you?