No coolant temp sensor plug make car not want to start?

Posted by overdoseheroin, Nov 10, 2007
Electrical Tech - Wiring, turbo timers, electronic boost controllers, gauges, fuses, wiring harnesses, wire tucks, car audio, and all other electrical component discussions.

  1. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    i just did a 6 bolt swap into my new 2g and the broke dick that owned the car before ripped the coolant temp sensor plug off, thus it is not plugged in. It is a royal pain to start when its cold, probably takes about 5 minutes. Would that coolant temp sensor make it do that? I have the IAC and VIAV blocked off from my 1g...im not sure if that will affect the 2g more than the 1g because the 1g started fine, just idled like crap till it warmed up. Any suggestions would be great, this is getting annoying in the mornings. LOL. Thanks!
    #1
  2. peypey's ride

    peypey's ride Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lilly Lake, Illinois
    Go to Autozone and get a new temp sensor. It should help.
    #2
  3. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    Its not the fact that the temp sensor is bad...its just not hooked up, like i said when i posted, the broke dick that owned the car before me ripped the plug off the harness and when i did the swap i nevr had a plug to connect it.
    #3
  4. tqmx1

    tqmx1 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Posts:
    661
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sacramento, California
    Quite simple 2 red butt end connectors 2 red spade connectors less than a foot of 18 guage wire a stripping/crimping tool.

    Build two pigtails then find where he nipped the wires cut back the wire insulation and crimp tht pigtails on the wires install the other end of the pig tails on the probe and away you go.:thumb:
    #4
  5. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    Check out my vehicle profile...2g, not 1g. ;) I wish it was a simple as a 1g, it would have been fixed already..just like i had to do to the last 5 1g's i owned..LOL
    #5
  6. coryd

    coryd Proven Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    sioux falls, South_Dakota
    So why would that matter if its a 1g or 2g??
    #6
  7. 96_charcoal_tsi

    96_charcoal_tsi Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Belpre, Ohio
    Yes a coolant temp. sensor will cause for poore idle. The computer will never go into closed loop and will cause for very bad idle. Get this fixed and post back up.
    #7
  8. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    you ever see a 2g temp sensor? ;)
    #8
  9. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    i never said anything about a poor idle, it idles fine when its warmed up, the poor idle when cold it because i dont have any idle controls on my TB, i eliminated them, im just asking if the coolant temp sensor is not hooked up, will it cause hard starting when cold....thats all.
    #9
  10. tqmx1

    tqmx1 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Posts:
    661
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sacramento, California
    No, Have a picture of one so we will know what you are playing with.
    #10
  11. peypey's ride

    peypey's ride Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lilly Lake, Illinois
    i broke the plug from the harness for my coolant temp sensor. I just put a couple of connectors on it and slipped them on each prong on the sensor. Then used electrical tape to hold it on til I go the a junkyard and find a connector to replace it. Yes it did affect my idle a bit.
    #11
  12. Piranha451

    Piranha451 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Westchestertonf, Florida
    Just in case you are talking about the single bladed sensor, that one is called the temperature sender. The temperature sensor is, on the 1G the double bladed sensor next to the sender and on a 2G I believe it is the one above the sender that has male/female plug.
    #12
  13. overdoseheroin

    overdoseheroin Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    4
    your mom, Minnesota
    I am 100% aware of that.
    #13
  14. dcmarf

    dcmarf Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theodore, Alabama
    its great how no one ever posts the answer to the question once they obviously found out since they stopped talking about it?
    #14

Share This Page