The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

Newbie discussion about Holset HE351VE vgt

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gte

Proven Member
Dec 12, 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Hi,

I'm sorry if these are common questions, being a newb I can only post in the general tech forum.

Which should be paid for one of these turbos?
Where can you find them besides ebay?
Do you need an external wastegate on a gas motor?
Is there an issue with over spinning them on decel?
Is gas mileage terrible due to the restrictive a/r ratio off of boost?
What are the different controller options?
Does anyone have the dimensions of this turbo?
Where can you get the turbine inlet flange? The turbine outlet flange?
Are there anything else worth knowing ahead of finding out the hard way?

Thanks for reading.

Which should be paid for one of these turbos?
Honestly not sure I've seen them go from 50-500 I'd say for 300ish a good one can be had.

Where can you find them besides eBay?
Wrecking yards or from diesel guys upgrading?

Do you need an external wastegate on a gas motor?
Yes

Is there an issue with over spinning them on decel?
no idea?

Is gas mileage terrible due to the restrictive a/r ratio off of boost?
You can shim or adjust how far it closes so I'm going to say no.

What are the different controller options?
Fleece controller has Been used on the trucks ,waste gate actuator use to control it mainly used in car application saves space too.

Does anyone have the dimensions of this turbo?
big 10x10x10 maybe ? I can measure if needed.