The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

Is your 14B Turbine housing trashed, leaking boost?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hey Guys, not sure how well this has been covered. I tried to post in the tech articles but I am still a newbie. Anyways, I never found much info on this so here is my experience:

All 1G Turbo's are plagued with the infamous cast iron flaws on it's hot side of the 14B Turbo.. It is actually really funny because the turbo itself will outlast the turbine housing without ever needing a rebuild.

The 16G hotside is actually has a similar bolt pattern with some slight differences, most notably a better design and cast.

The reason you use the housing of a 16G is because of.... AVAILABILITY.. They are everywhere. Ebay, some friends blown 16g or even your blown 16g. Good luck trying to find a 14B hotside in good condition.

I did not take pictures when doing this, so I will do my best to explain the process.

1. You need to remove your turbo. (Steps on how to do this can be found in several places, I will post a tech on how to do this later.

2. With the complete turbo assembly in front of you, grab an 8 or 10mm socket (Can't remember at the moment) and remove the V-Clamp from the turbo.

3. Carefully tap in around the turbo and the housing until they seperate, if this does not work use a flathead in between the assemblies very carefully as to not gouge the metal. This may take a while, do so very gently and in a circular motion.

4. The assemblies will come apart revelaing the turbine. Be careful not to bend the fins.

5. Take the hotside and... Throw it away.. LOL