The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

ECUflash How to use a Spyder ECU in any turbo DSM

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjohn23

15+ Year Contributor
Jun 19, 2008
phoenix, Arizona
I am not an expert this is experimental and following this guide could blow up your car or just ruin a perfectly good ECU.

So, apparently, H8 Spyder ECUs are not sought after, even though they can be flashed to a turbo rom. Why? The reason is that the fuel pump pin 8 does not operate the same way it does in the turbo cars , or NT cars for that matter, due to a fuel control module.

The fuel control module can be removed and another transistor pin like 22 can be used but why changed this and cause other devices not to work correctly like the AC( pin 22 is the AC).

No fix the problem , fix the circuit.

The difference between the turbo ECU and the spyder ECU comes down to a SOT-23 and a 1K resistor VS a SOT-89 PNP transistor ( not sure if NPN or PNP )

What is needed:

· soldering Iron

· solder

· solder remover( either a braid or solder sucker)

· SMD PNP SOT-89 transistor (not sure on the specs I used a scrapped ECU)

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

Ensure you have a way to ground yourself to prevent ECU from getting shocked from static either with a grounding strap or with a piece of metal FYI not all shock is visible and transistors are very sensitive to static electricity.

De-solder and removed 1K resistor R530

Removed SMD SOT-23 transistor

Now solder in the new transistor and that’s all she wrote

Attachments

• upload_2016-3-21_22-23-25.png
    upload_2016-3-21_22-23-25.png
    285.3 KB · Views: 123
Last edited: