High impedance injectors, resistor pack delete wiring?

Posted by v8s_are_slow, May 24, 2013
Electrical Tech - Wiring, turbo timers, electronic boost controllers, gauges, fuses, wiring harnesses, wire tucks, car audio, and all other electrical component discussions.

  1. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    I recently purchased some Bosch high impedance 1200cc injectors. I've deleted the resistor pack but after searching, I guess i'm suppose to have some sort of resistor pack delete plug??? Well, if I can just cut of the plug from the resistor pack and wire it correctly, I'd prefer to do that.

    Does anyone know how to wire it up? I just deleted the pack and nothing else. And guessing that's why my car won't start and injectors won't pulse. Hmmm...

    Help anyone? Been searching for hours now. Thanks.
    #1
  2. c2ypt1c

    c2ypt1c Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    24
    Southern, California
    EXTREME PSI - FIC Fuel Resistor Pack Delete Plug: DMS/Evo 8,9 #24496 :thumb:

    IMHO, it's not worth the pain trying to manually wire it up when you can buy the plug for $30 shipped...
    #2
  3. Spyderman7

    Spyderman7 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    6
    Annapolis, Maryland
    All you do is wire all 5 wires together.
    #3
  4. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    Well, i'm tight on money and I know how to solder just fine. Unless someone has $30 they care to give me. Lol. I have a lot of court stuff going on right now...getting custody of my kids. So yeah, i'm all about saving a buck right now.

    All touching? Or what?
    #4
  5. Spyderman7

    Spyderman7 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    6
    Annapolis, Maryland
    Yep. Soder all 5 wires together.4 wires go to your injectors and the 5th wire is supplying power to them.
    #5
  6. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    Awesome. Thanks!!!

    Well, I appreciate the info. Took me about 5 minutes or so today and it fired right up :)

    [​IMG]
    #6
  7. Spyderman7

    Spyderman7 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    6
    Annapolis, Maryland
    Glad I could help.
    #7
  8. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    ^ goooood info. Gonna be getting some 2150s and might do this.
    #8
  9. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    Just a tip on how I did it. I soldered all the wires together but I didn't solder it the entire length of the wire because I wanted some flexibility so that I could bend the wire over after I was done. I didn't wanna take a chance of having the wire poking out of the end of the heat shrink and then touching something. So I bent the wire over, then put the heat shrink over the end. After I shrunk it to the wire, I heated up the end of it up really well, then smashed it together to close it off. That's how I did mine anyway.
    #9
  10. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Do you need an extra plug? I thought the resistor was one solid piece.
    #10
  11. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    I cut the plug off my resistor pack and soldered it as you see above.
    #11
  12. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Hum mine is a plug solid on the resistor. Might be different on the 99. The resistor doesnt have a pigtail light that on mine.

    Maybe I'm an idiot, but were talking about the thing that sits in the cradle of the intake manifold correct? Or the box on the firewall?
    #12
  13. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Edit: ahh got the TRANSISTOR. Mixed upnwith the resistor. We ARE talking about the silver box on the firewall.
    #13
  14. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    Yes, the box on the firewall. Transistor, resistor, tomater, tomato ;)
    #14
  15. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    No the transistor is a part of the coil pack
    #15
  16. v8s_are_slow

    v8s_are_slow Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    15
    Panama City, Florida
    Coil pack, driveshaft, same difference. Haha!
    #16
  17. estoyaqui30

    estoyaqui30 Supporting VIP

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Central Jersey, New_Jersey
    No, transistor is not part of the coil pack. It is separate, but is bolted on to the intake manifold next to the coil pack.
    #17
  18. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Yah, thats what i got confused with haha
    #18
  19. BLACKCARBON

    BLACKCARBON Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    NY, New_York
    i have id2000 hi-z injectors
    if you dont solder all 5 wires together (remove them from the harness) will the car still start.
    cause mine does,it idles like crap but runs
    #19
  20. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Just solder them all together, no reason not to. I did it and everything works great
    #20
  21. Tyeler18

    Tyeler18 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    18
    Casa Grande, Arizona
    If you've removed the resistor box, but didn't install a delete "plug" or solder the wires together the car will not start. Like stated above, there's one 12v power wire that feeds the other 4 power wires to the injectors. Without that resistor box or a delete, there's no power side to your injectors.
    #21
  22. BLACKCARBON

    BLACKCARBON Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    NY, New_York
    lesson learned (wires came loose) :ohdamn:
    i guess i should upgrade from elec. tape to solder
    or better yet a crimper
    #22
  23. UrbanSmoker

    UrbanSmoker Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Posts:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oakville, ON_Canada
    Better yet a crimper??? Solder is much better than a crimp
    #23
  24. pointblank9957

    pointblank9957 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kingsford, Michigan
    wiring essential components is fun isn't it? scary but fun! i had to wire a knock sensor wire and connector onto my ecu and rewire my fuel relays to accept a 12v signal instead of 5v (2g turbo ECU instead of Spyder 2.4 ECU)
    #24
  25. Dsmkauai

    Dsmkauai Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    96.3%
    DSM Profiles:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    10
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Never just tie wires together and use tape!!! Always solder and shrink wrap guys!!!!!!!!!!! What happens when your at the track and your in the middle of a run at 100+mph and those wires come loose bro!! Booooooommmmmmmmm that's what you lean out and toast the motor and for what because you couldn't take a few extra minutes and do it right. ;)
    #25

Share This Page