The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

Help with new motor build

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bizie

Proven Member
Jul 17, 2014
hagerstown, Maryland
So I just got a 6 bolt and I'm looking for some specific information on what exactly the numbers on the build sheet mean. This is a brand new block built by Rob Fig? apparently he is a know name is the dsm world? I don't know because I'm new to all of this. I mainly want to know what exactly does .40 over mean? I know it is the bore being .40 over but then what would the displacement of the block be? It is on a stock crank and I'm just now learning about changing the crank for different displacement also, so I'm getting confused about how you get to a 2.3 liter? Is it by boring the cylinders or is it by changing the crank? So if I am .40 over am I a 2.4l? Sorry if this is a dumb question but aren't they all when you know the answer?

Also wanted to know if this means I need a special head gasket size? Do I go with the 85.5mm head gasket? I have 9.0:1 Compression ration cp pistons. Does this effect the head gasket I need?

For now this is all the noob questions I have but I'm sure I will come up with more since I still have to complete the block assembly and get it into my 2g gst. Thanks guys for any help.

It is .040 or 1mm over std bore of 85mm or 3.346
.40 over would be about a 10mm over bore and take you to a 95mm bore.

Boring the block is not going to gain you much displacement, around 2 CID

The 2.3 is built by 100mm stroke crank in a 85mm bore block
The 2.4 is built by 100 mm stroke crank in a 86mm bore block

the stroke on a stock crank is 88mm

I wont get into rod lengths....