The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

ECMlink Gsx problems

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TattedUpCAT

Probationary Member
Mar 18, 2018
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Ok so I’m very new to dsmtuners I hardly use it and I really need to start using it more often. My current problem right now and this may be on another post I just couldn’t find it. I bought a 1995 Eclipse gsx for around 7k it has some nice mods on it and it’s very clean but the day after I got it I believe I’m in the first stages of crank walk. I’ve literally driven this car like a grandma being the fact it has a new engine in it. So I’m guessing I’m havibg a tuning issue because it seems I was running very lean. So fast forward I bought a new motor and I’m about to put it in. I have ecmlink there is a tune on it currently. My question would be before getting it retuned should I place the stock tune back on the car and break the motor in that way?

I would keep the tune the same unless you have changed things like injectors, speed density. If all you changed was the engine then I think you'll be good on the old tune. I've always been under the impression that you need to be driving the car immediately and getting under boost and heavy vacuum as the rpms drop when you break-in a motor. In other words, don't screw around for an hour and a half letting it idle and such while you figure out how to use the ecmlink. The car needs to be ready to drive as soon as you start it. This has worked great for me on both my engines.