The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support ExtremePSI

Going to look at a project tomorrow

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cmiller95

Probationary Member
Dec 5, 2013
Carrollton, Illinois
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here and I understand how annoying these questions get but I've done a ton of reading and hopefully have a decent understanding of what I'm looking at. I'm going to look at a 97 gst with gsx suspension on it. It has a 6 bolt engine, 16g turbo (idk about injectors), a bigger fuel pump, 8.5:1 pistons (doesn't state the brand), awd exhaust from apexi, and an Apexi tuner. The car runs but needs the transfer case put in it. Which throws a flag as it could be masking other issues since it isn't drive able. The car is pictured to be in pretty good shape. I believe the owner used a donor car to convert over. I'm mechanically inclined and have worked on cars in a machine shop my whole life. I know to look for strut tower rust, the quality of work on the conversation, to check the turbo's shaft play, listen for a possible knock, and overall quality of the car. I don't mind a project at all. What other things should I look for? And the always evident question, what is a decent price range for the car if it is in good condition besides having to install the transfer case?

Thanks a bunch guys,
Colton

P.s. It also come with an EPROM ecu which to my understanding is better than the factory 2g one.

Shouldnt offer much trans is odds are bad i would tell the owner that as is offer is ? (whatever you feel its worth) and if he takes the time to put it back on you will pay ? Close to asking prive at least