1. DSMtuners is now running on a new server. If you experience any errors or problems using the site, please post a thread in the Site Feedback forum describing the issue and the URL where it took place. Screenshots are also useful.

Evo 8 Ecu In 2g Works!!

Posted by GSXDNA, Oct 31, 2008
Tuning & Engine Management - 4G63 EPROMS, ECU, MAF, knock, EGT, wideband, datalogging, fuel trims, etc.

Please Support Jackson Auto Machine
  1. ewoevo

    ewoevo Proven Member San Antonio, Texas

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would say try scaling the 2G one first. It should work fine, but if it doesn't, then you could go with an EVO MAF.
     
  2. GSXDNA

    GSXDNA Proven Member Los Angeles, California

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    12


    Regarding the MAF, I have seen no problems running the stock 2G maf. To be honest, the car idles and runs the same if not better than stock. As long as you have the scallings correct in EcuFlash, you should have no issues.

    Regarding the bcs, I have not messed around with this yet. If it doesn't work though, I see no reason why one from an evo wouldn't.
     
  3. m_0ney_pit

    m_0ney_pit Supporting Member Reading, Pennsylvania

    DSM Profiles:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    10
    I searched the thread and couldn't find anything about injector sizing.

    your using 450cc injectors and the evo ecu is expecting 560cc injectors so without changing the fuel maps you's probably be logging lean, the deadtime is the same though. How did you deal with the difference in size of the injectors?

    Also phantom knock, i saw some PK counts in the logs you posted...has it gotten better or worse since you did the swap? On this note, i never hear about the evos having partial throttle knock...wonder if the knock sensor from an evo would be an upgrade for us 2g guys...
     
  4. GSXDNA

    GSXDNA Proven Member Los Angeles, California

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    12

    EcuFlash allows for full injector scalling. This means you either go up, or down. I just typed in 450 into the injector scalling table, and the car ran fine.

    Most if not all of my partial throttle phantom knocks you are referring to were from old logs, from when before I fixed my check engine light / 02 sensor issue. The Ecu wasn't going into closed loop mode fast enough because the guy from RRE accidentally disconnected my second 02 sensor. After i fixed that, the partial throttle knock dissappeared. I would be surprised if the knock sensor from an evo yeilded any different results than a knock sensor from a 2g.
     
  5. mike96

    mike96 Proven Member Phoenix, Arizona

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    13
    i am looking at picking up an EVO ecu here pretty soon so i will have some questions i might need answered. my setup will be a little different, i have a MAFT Gen2. but for now i was just curious if you had seen this yet?

    It's alive! (Speed density, stock ECU) - evolutionm.net
     
  6. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
    So I finally made it out to my car today and verified that I do not have the secondary diagnostic port, I believe I have all of the information that I need to install one when the time comes and we get out of sub zero weather but I just wanted to clarify that I'm looking for the right part since I have never actually seen one. If I am correct I am looking specifically for a white 12 pin connector out of a 98/99 turbo car? It seems like the n/t cars have these and they look the same but I'm not sure if the wiring is the same for them.

    What I'm looking for is labeled "b" here correct?
    [​IMG]

    I found some information about it in this thread.

    http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/new...i-obdii-obd2-obd-2-port-location-where-2.html

    If someone happened to have a picture of the accompanying wiring coming off of it or if it is just a single wire which pin it is attached to that might be helpful also though maybe it isn't necessary.
     
  7. 98GSXtreme07

    98GSXtreme07 Proven Member Denham Springs, Louisiana

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are correct. "B" is Mitsubishi's diagnosic port. Wierd that you don't have one though? :confused:

    :dsm:
     
  8. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'm fairly certain (though not completely) that 95-97 turbo cars did not come with the re-flash port. I believe all 2g n/t cars have them and any turbo car with a plastic case ecu (98/99) will have one. I have no idea if 1g cars have anything like this. I also have no idea about the n/t spyders but in at least one case in the thread I linked there wasn't one.
     
  9. GSXDNA

    GSXDNA Proven Member Los Angeles, California

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    12


    Very interesting. Have not seen this yet. Speed density is definetely the way to go if you can make it work.
     
  10. dsm-onster

    dsm-onster DSM Wiseman Bloxom, Virginia

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Posts:
    8,218
    Likes Received:
    76
    My brothers 1997 (aug 1996 build date) eagle talon AWD has an obd2 diagnostic port. I used evoscan very successfully with it. . . Do you mean the white REFLASH/programming port?
     
  11. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, everywhere that I have seen it referred to it was called a "Mitsubishi diagnostic port". I guess it would be misleading if you only read that post and not the two above it. I will edit my post to make it clearer so that no one accidentally gets bad information from a search.
     
  12. 4nturbo

    4nturbo Proven Member York, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 95 Talon AWD and it dose not have the re-flash port so when I re-pined my patch harness to do this swap I just cut wire 79 out of the harness and used the half of the wire thats on the evo8 ecu side of the harness and connected it to the tantrix cable I was able to link up with the evo8 ecu with no problem well I did have one problem the evo8 ecu I got from a freind was bad and would not start the car so now Im looking for a good one (he had swaped out his ecu because his evo would not start when he installed the new ecu he found some wiring problems so he was not sure if the ecu was bad or not ) :cry:
     
  13. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
    I understand that it is simply a matter of providing +12v to that pin at startup and that there is an easy solution. If I have to I will just do that but I would like to have the actual connector. I think I've found one from a local so hopefully I'll have one soon.
     
  14. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
  15. jjgrizz73

    jjgrizz73 Proven Member Carbondale, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0

    I followed the pin on an EVO wiring diagram and found that the corner wire that hooks up to the tactrix cable is a Ecu chasis ground. I believe if you can go find a connector at a junkyard cut it off and chasis ground it you will have your second port. Since the tactrix only uses this to ground itself for flashing/logging. My N/T spyder did NOT have this port I took it off a 2gb 420a car in the junkard.
     
  16. Ceddy

    Ceddy Proven Member Reading, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    836
    Likes Received:
    30
    The Tatrix cable only uses one wire in the flash connector. The extra two wires are there for support so the pins won't pull out of the connector easily.

    The one wire that is used is hooked up to the ecu harness. (Pin 79, I think)

    PIC_0783 (Small).JPG

    There is no need to apply +12v. Everything is handled by the cable. Reflashing is started by an init sequence in the communications protocol.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2014
  17. jjgrizz73

    jjgrizz73 Proven Member Carbondale, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    My tactrix only has 1 wire in the connector not 3, but it is the one that requires the ground (pin 79). Thats all that connector really does, which is why you can just pick up a connector and ground it out and it should work correct?
     
  18. the_mork

    the_mork Moderator Eau Claire, Wisconsin

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    20
    Alright, I assumed that it was a matter of applying +12v because of Madman's post in the ecuflash tuning thread for the 98/99 ecus. I guess that this is a bit different.

     
  19. Ceddy

    Ceddy Proven Member Reading, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    836
    Likes Received:
    30
    There is no need to ground the connector, just hook it up to pin 79.
     
  20. Ceddy

    Ceddy Proven Member Reading, Pennsylvania

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    836
    Likes Received:
    30
    Think Madman was talking about the actual cpu pins, in trying to get the 98/99 to flash.
    No need to do this with the Evo8 ecu.
     
  21. ewoevo

    ewoevo Proven Member San Antonio, Texas

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I finally got the time to put an EVO ECU into my car. It works great! There are a couple of things, like the RPM gauge dropping when pushing on the gas pedal, and the factory boost gauge not working, but those are minor. Overall I am very happy with the way the car runs. Now I need to do a little tuning to smooth it out.:thumb:
     
  22. GSXDNA

    GSXDNA Proven Member Los Angeles, California

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    12



    Yeah, I also have the RPM problem. I heard that changing the length/gauge of certain wires could solve this problem, but I really don't care about it very much.

    I am not aware of any output on the evo ECU for boost expressed in volts, so yeah the factory boost gauge will not be functional anymore.

    Congrats on the successful install!
     
  23. GSXDNA

    GSXDNA Proven Member Los Angeles, California

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    12

    Now that I think about it, I wonder what the volt range is for the 2G factory boost gauge. It may be possible to splice the knock sensor signal wire to also go to the 2G boost gauge wire. If the volt ranges between what the knock sensor puts out and what the 2G boost gauge is expecting, it may be possible to have a functional stock-looking knock gauge right in the factory instrument cluster! Even if the voltages are off, im sure resistors or something else (electrical engineering is not my specialty) could be used to make the 2G factory boost gauge move around when the Ecu sees knock. Any one know the voltage values that a knock sensor puts out vs. what the 2G boost gauge is expecting?


    That, would be incredible. :rocks::rocks::rocks::rocks:
     
  24. steve

    steve DSM Wiseman St. Charles, Illinois

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Posts:
    12,390
    Likes Received:
    334
    Knock sensor doesn't work that way. It's a microphone. The ECU processes the audio to listen for knock.
     
  25. johnnyboy55

    johnnyboy55 Proven Member Miami / Broward, Florida

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    knock sensor is supposed to be 0 to 5v i believe.. at idle its .5 volts or lower and during driving it fluxes up and down betwen .5 to 1v to whatever depending on knock or not.. thats pretty interesting -- it does put out voltage dunno how many mA but u can log the voltages in evoscan.. But u would probably cause interference if u spliced the knock sensor.


    i think i have seen up to 2.xx volts on knock
     

Share This Page

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Ace Race Parts Advanced Fuel Injection Archer Fabrication Boostin Performance ECM Tuning Extreme Turbo Systems ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions Jackson Auto Machine JNZ Tuning Magnus Motorsports Miller Import Parts Morrison Fabrication & Design OHM Racing Race Components Inc RockAuto RoadSurge Spultronix Performance STM Tuned Strictly Import Motorsports VR Speed Factory