The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I am posting this in the misc. tech article section because im not entirely sure where you guys might classify this information.

Let me start this by saying that I am not an expert, I have a decent amount of knowledge on how the following concepts work and this topic is definitely up for discussion and debate. I am simply introducing the concept and leaving the floor open to questions and ideas. If you have questions or an argument against anything I say in this post please voice your opinion. I will note that my knowledge of this concept comes from what I do for a living so I do have an idea of what I'm talking about.

Here is the deal:

Heat is huge factor in the efficiency of any machine. Friction and combustion create heat as a byproduct. How can the properties of heat, heat transfer, and heat dissipation be utilized to more efficiently reduce the heat in certain components in the engine bay to improve performance of the engine?

Allow me to introduce, to those who may be reading this who aren’t familiar with the concept already, emissivity. Emissivity is the measure of how efficiently a material surface emits (or radiates) heat. It is measured on a scale from zero to one; zero having no heat emittance and one having perfect heat emittance also known as a black body. A perfect emitter has yet to be discovered. Human skin has an emissivity of roughly .98 and bare aluminum has an emissivity of .02-.4 depending on the condition of the surface.