ECU Manual or auto does it matter???

Posted by Boxer269, Nov 9, 2004
Newbie Forum - Beginner DSM modification questions and discussions. Common, repetitive, and general discussions will get dumped here from other tech forums. Unless you're a Probationary member you shouldn't post threads here.

  1. Boxer269

    Boxer269 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brighton, Michigan
    i have a 95 tsi awd 5 speed and i fried the ecu last night when i was trying to hook up my safc and i found an ecu for a 95 tsi Automatic. will it work for my car? does it matter if it is an auto or manual ecu cause i know that the autos also have a seperate transmission computer under the ecu i was just wondering if the auto will work.

    thanks alot - Rob :(
     
    #1
  2. power=dsm

    power=dsm Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    , QuebecCanada
    yes it will work, i think they talk about it in the 1000vaq
     
    #2
  3. Boxer269

    Boxer269 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brighton, Michigan
    Thanks alot i just hope when i get the ecu that it isnt different also do you think instead of buying the used auto ecu that i could get it repaired at an electronics repair place??? or is it better just to get a used one?

    thanks rob
     
    #3
  4. huafist

    huafist Proven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Posts:
    807
    Likes Received:
    9
    Morristown, Tennessee
    I can't speak authoritatively on 2G's, but on 1G's, the ECU certainly does matter between manual and auto - first reason that comes to mind are the fuel maps being different.
     
    #4
  5. DaveT

    DaveT Proven Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Higley, Arizona
    You are correct, the fuel maps are different because the smaller injectors on the auto. Remember, the major differences in the autos are the smaller inj, different cams (for more low end torque), and smaller turbo. So on a stock 1G DSM, it may make a difference.

    However, I put a manual ECU in my car (auto) and it worked fine, no problems, but I do have an AFC which will change the fuel maps.

    On a 2G though, I think the inj/cams/turbo are the same between auto/manual, correct? If so, it should not be a problem with putting a auto ecu in a manual 2G.

    DaveT
    92GSX
     
    #5
  6. Boxer269

    Boxer269 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brighton, Michigan
    Ok so what i did was i took my ecu up to brighton tv and electronic repair and had them take my afc and my computer apart and they said the AFC is FINE totally fine the dick that hooked it up must have hooked it up wrong cause only the buttons light up and not the screen. however the ecu was fried and im pretty sure its an emprom or what ever because its got the E in the bottom right corner and i found another 95 manual TSI ecu and bought it today and it had identical numbers except instead of an E it had a T and the junkyard dude told me taht donst mean anyhting. so i hooked it up and now my car is idleing ok but running like sh** total sh** fluttering at wot until about 10 seconds of bababababbaba fluttering then sounding better and still going slow and abnormal not mentoining the HUGE black smoke coming out of my exaust leaving GUNK in my muffler making it BLACK and goey when i accelerate... please some one tell me i have the wrong computer or SOMETHING!!! also i have brand new oil, plugs and wires that i bought tonight so i know thats not it it ran fine before this guy fried my ecu... anyways please help

    thanks - pert
     
    #6
  7. Boxer269

    Boxer269 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brighton, Michigan
    also my car was backfiring alot in decelerating
     
    #7
  8. cuttheduck

    cuttheduck Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    1
    detroit, Michigan
    Bringing back,
    i need to know if a manual ECU will work in an auto 2g also.
    Sounds like boxer was having problems. Anybody have success w/ this swap?
     
    #8
  9. hellotbone

    hellotbone Proven Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    18
    2G manual and auto ECU's ARE THE SAME either will work properly.
     
    #9
  10. WoodyAnderson

    WoodyAnderson Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    walnut creek, California
    In a related thread, "Steve" replied with a great link. Try <A HREF="http://home.xnet.com/~steve/Auto/DSM/ECUID.html"> this. </A>
     
    #10

Share This Page