The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

Car won't accelerate past 3 grand please help!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oreostylez

Probationary Member
Apr 8, 2017
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
I'm new to dsm and turbo cars in general. I'm a mechanic fora living but can't figure out my cars problem at all. When I bought it the guy told me it had a code for the MAF sensor and it wouldn't drive under 4 grand. But once it started moving it ran great. Once I put the new sensor in and cleared the code it would only accelerate to 3 grand then start bucking. But when I unplug the sensor it's back to how it started. I've checked for vacuum leaks and boost leaks. I've checked the computer sensor ground but don't see any burnt paths. Can anyone please help me figure this out?

I wonder if being OEM or Parts Store makes a huge difference on MAF's? Where was the replacement from? I have had one go bad and the car ran better unplugged than plugged in.

I got the sensor from Autoparts warehouse. And warming up didn't make any difference. I have let it get to operating temp numerous times while trying to diagnose and test drive it. As for fuel pressure, it was revving up fine in neutral for a while and only acting up under load. Now it's started spitting and sputtering at about 4500 so that's something I'm going to have to check when I get a chance.

What plugs are you running. I had a friend ounce that had similar issues, after we put in some bpr7 plugs and gapped it the car ran great. Just giving you some possibilities.