camshafts wont turn

Posted by kenuwine4g63, Feb 19, 2011
Cylinder Head & Short Block - 4G63 cams, valvetrain, pistons, rods, stroker kits, 6-bolt swaps, hybrids, etc. Read this Forum's Strict Guidelines.

  1. kenuwine4g63

    kenuwine4g63 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    411
    Likes Received:
    1
    Charlotte, North_Carolina
    Ok...in need of some good help. I just replaced the head on my car, so i have it on and i started to do the timing belt job. I have the belt on snug/tight and proper but i cannot get the camshafts to turn. I honestly made another mistake and was turning the crankshaft and "slip" there it went turning without the cams. i have the cams lined up at TDC. Im pulling the head again to make sure i didnt bend any valves:(. All the camshaft clamps are in the right order. I need help what could it possibly be:confused: I've been doing this all day, i mean from 9am to now-6pm. Help please

    The problem.....Switched cam caps. Original to original:banghead:
     
    #1
  2. matt98eclipse

    matt98eclipse Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    No need to pull the head to check if valves are bent. Just pull the valve cover and try and wiggle each roller rockers and see if any of them are looae. If all of them are nice and tight your good but now if you have any that a farely loose then you have a bent valve.
     
    #2
  3. kenuwine4g63

    kenuwine4g63 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    411
    Likes Received:
    1
    Charlotte, North_Carolina
    ok cool. I cant believe something so small could waste my entire da:banghead::banghead:. I used the cam caps off my other head because they are cleaner than the ones that came with my replacement head. Those bad boys are tough. But what about the cam cap that is closest to the cam gear does that one have to be changed out too. Im using the cams that came off my car instead of the ones that cam with the head. Those cam caps on the one closest to the cam gear dosnt come off...I dont believe
     
    #3
  4. 400HP1GT

    400HP1GT Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Baltimore, Maryland
    You must use the cam caps that came with the head, you have installed on the engine.
     
    #4
  5. matt98eclipse

    matt98eclipse Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    mesa, Arizona
    Like stated above. You must use the origanl cam caps for the head. Each head and cam caps are mechined to work togethor. If you mix up the cam caps from different heads the head has to get a line bore done by a mechine shop.

    Hope this helps.
     
    #5
  6. 95tsiemad

    95tsiemad Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Same mistake I made when I was doing my first head was tighten the caps too much check the torque spec on the and take them off and retighten them
     
    #6
  7. NOSLO2PT0

    NOSLO2PT0 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Posts:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joliet, Illinois
    You CANNOT switch cam caps from head to head. That's why your cams won't turn.
     
    #7
  8. doubleclutch99

    doubleclutch99 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    5
    nowhere, Michigan
    now you'll need to check the belt to make sure you didn't damage that as well. ie. ripping the teeth off of it. just a thought.
     
    #8
  9. kenuwine4g63

    kenuwine4g63 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    411
    Likes Received:
    1
    Charlotte, North_Carolina
    ohh yes i changed the cam caps and the gears turn so much easier thanks guys. The belt is fine it wasnt tight enought to pull any teeth off. i oiled the head while i was turning the engine to check my timing marks so it spins pretty good.
     
    #9

Share This Page