Blocking off Emissions Vacuum Lines

Posted by Ice Racer, Mar 14, 2008
Appearance/Interior/Exterior - All interior and exterior tech discussions; body and paint, conversions, lighting, washing, waxing, etc.

  1. Ice Racer

    Ice Racer Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Milton, Ontario_Canada
    Hi all, I'm going through the process of doing the $0 mods and I'm starting with the first one one the list. I've been trying to research how to block off the emissions vacuum lines on my car but I can't seem to find actual pictures or a VFAQ on how to do it. The Taboo Speed Shop link seems to be broken.

    I know there are posts around which have vacuum line diagrams. These will help but I want to see pictures of someone that has done it and exactly which hoses to pull and where to plug.

    FYI, this will be an "off road" car.

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    77
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    The Taboo diagram is helpful. That's what I partially followed when I did my vacuum line removal. I also just thought logically and just started pulling everything I didn't think I'd need.

    Here's a picture of my 2g, but the setup is similar (and also I have a 1g throttle body). If you need help/explanation of the Taboo diagram, let me know and I can tell you what all hoses should be kept, and then you can just pull the rest. And if you want more pictures of mine, let me know.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  3. 1992awdlaser

    1992awdlaser Probationary Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wallace, North_Carolina
    Just take off all the hoses. Plug the ones you don't need. Run new ones to the stuff you do need (fpr, boost gauge, wastegate, bov) and the intake manifold.
    #3
  4. Ice Racer

    Ice Racer Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Milton, Ontario_Canada
    Please don't take this the wrong way, and not to flame but that's exactly what I'm asking... I know I have to take off and plug the lines I don't need :rolleyes: But which ones don't I need and which ones do I have to plug? AND PICTURES! I've read many threads and no one has pictures like a VFAQ step-by-step for such a basic mod apart from the diagrams I mentioned. I wouldn't be asking if I already knew how to do it. :D

    Anyways, snowborder714 can you show me a close-up of your TB and the other ends that were plugged/capped?

    Thanks.
    #4
  5. mitsu_matt

    mitsu_matt Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lyon Township, Michigan
    Try this

    Attached Files:

    #5
  6. welfle18

    welfle18 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Norwalk, Ohio
    I would not tap into the BOV line for a MBC. Instead of plugging the compressor nipple use that line instead of the BOV line.
    #6
  7. 1992awdlaser

    1992awdlaser Probationary Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wallace, North_Carolina
    Its as easy to do as what you read. Take ALL of them off. Then connect new ones to the intake manifold that go to the blow off valve, boost gauge, fuel pressure regulator, and wastegate/ boost controller.

    At Autozone or advance (probably both) they sell vacuum line block off caps. Get some of those to block off the ones that are not connected any more. Also read the tech article on here on how to remove the charcoal canister.

    Its not hard at all it just looks like it.
    #7
  8. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    77
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Sure, I'll take a bunch tomorrow. Hopefully it stops raining.
    #8
  9. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    77
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Here's the photos I took today. Just remember I own a 2g (with a 1g swap).

    IMG_3218 [800x600].jpg

    IMG_3220 [800x600].jpg

    IMG_3222 [800x600].jpg

    IMG_3223 [800x600].jpg

    The above picture shows where the 2 solenoids for the EGR and EVAP would be on a 2g.

    IMG_3224 [800x600].jpg

    IMG_3225 [800x600].jpg

    IMG_3226 [800x600].jpg

    (The last picture is to show that the charcoal canister is eliminated.)

    As far as I can remember, the only vacuum lines I have on are as follows:
    -bov to intake manifold
    -mbc to wastegate
    -mbc to nipple on j pipe
    -valve cover breather to catch can to intake pipe
    -PCV valve to check valve to catch can to intake manifold
    -AFPR to intake manifold
    -brake booster to intake manifold

    The EGR system, EGR and EVAP solenoids, and charcoal canister and associated items (NOT including the line to the gas tank - that needs to be left in and vented to the atmosphere) are all removed. I am able to remove the solenoids since I have DSMlink. I have the BCS still hooked up, but no lines run to it since I have an MBC. I have my boost gauge teed into the vacuum line from the AFPR to the intake manifold.

    If you need anything else, let me know.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2014
    #9
  10. Defiant

    Defiant DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    25,202
    Likes Received:
    92
    glorious Galt, California
    The "Taboo vacuum" threads here are the same information as was on Taboo's site. You can also get the original Taboo sites from the Internet Wayback Machine.
    Removing vacuum lines from a DSM only takes away some clutter. You will make no gains in performance by doing it.
    #10
  11. buddahboost

    buddahboost Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    CHICAGO HEIGHTS, Illinois
    So I'm doing my emissions removal too. I already removed the canister along with the Fuel Pressure Solenoid and the EVAP Solenoid.

    I got an Adjustable Fuel Pressure Regulator so I need a vaccuum line for that. The line that was coming from intake manifold to the Fuel pressure solenoid is gone, so I hooked it straight up to the AFPR.

    I don't know where to put my tee for the boost gauge, so would it effect the readings if I run both the AFPR and the boost gauge off that single vaccuum line?

    Also, I keep my EGR valve cause I don't know when emissions is coming and I want to pass even though I've heard 90 awd's are exempt here in Chicago. I won't know till I have to go.

    So can I tap my boost gauge off one of the lines from there or is that not a vacuum line? There's 2.

    My car is currently under the knife, sO I can't start it up and see if the gauges and AFPR are working right.
    #11
  12. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    77
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Just put a tee in the line from the intake manifold to the FPR and run your boost gauge off the tee.
    #12
  13. buddahboost

    buddahboost Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    CHICAGO HEIGHTS, Illinois
    Yeah that's what I originally did. But I read somewhere that it throws off the boost gauge. So that's my concern

    But thanks. That cleared up my question. When my car runs, I'll have to see if it is effected or not

    I bet my car feels sexy now with all those vaccuum lines are gone LOL
    #13
  14. Boost92awd

    Boost92awd Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    3
    Waukesha, Wisconsin
    #14
  15. 1992awdlaser

    1992awdlaser Probationary Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wallace, North_Carolina
    It won't throw it off
    #15
  16. 1sttimedsmr

    1sttimedsmr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hemet/San Ja, California
    i don mean to take over this tread , but what do you do with the solenoids after you take the vacuum lines out"? i took my lines out and left the solenoids in , is that going to be a problem? or is it going to be a problem if i unplug them (the solenoids) because the ecm wont detect them? 90 gsx stock ecm by the way.:hmm:
    #16
  17. Defiant

    Defiant DSM Wiseman

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    25,202
    Likes Received:
    92
    glorious Galt, California
    If you take the solenoids out of the circuit without substituting the correct load, you will get CEL warnings.
    #17
  18. 1sttimedsmr

    1sttimedsmr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hemet/San Ja, California
    cel warnings? way over my head. what are they? and how do you fix them?
    #18
  19. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    77
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    CEL = Check Engine Light

    Just avoid them by leaving the solenoids plugged in.
    #19
  20. 1sttimedsmr

    1sttimedsmr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hemet/San Ja, California
    thank you
    :ohdamn:
    #20
  21. TSIMonsteR

    TSIMonsteR Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    6
    HP, North_Carolina
    I left the EGR plugged in and removed/capped everything else.

    I took the solenoids and mounted them to the firewall out of site.
    #21
  22. habitatguy187

    habitatguy187 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    96%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    2,591
    Likes Received:
    6
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Maybe it's cause I have a 1g, but I completely unplugged my solenoids, and haven't had any CEL's??? Wish I would've kept my egr though :ohdamn: .
    #22
  23. Nihad

    Nihad Proven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    waterloo, Iowa
    Just buy some rubber vacuum caps for the throttle body and zippy tie them on and you can make a plate for the egr or leave it alone and disconnect the lines...If its not in your way
    #23
  24. 1sttimedsmr

    1sttimedsmr Proven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hemet/San Ja, California
    hey some people say to plug the line going to the gas tank not vent it to the atmosphere , so who is right
    :hmm:
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2014
    #24
  25. habitatguy187

    habitatguy187 Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    96%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    2,591
    Likes Received:
    6
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    I've read that you should vent it so that it doesn't build up pressure in the gas tank, venting will bring about the possibility of smelling fuel when your heat/ac is on, but I vent mine and don't notice anything.
    #25

Share This Page