ARP Headstuds??? Should I invest?

Posted by amballer82822, Sep 16, 2011
Bolt-on Tech - 4G63 intake, exhaust, intake manifold, ignition, fuel system, cooling, etc.

  1. amballer82822

    amballer82822 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I just installed T28 Turbo with 750cc injectors planning on running around 19PSI? I heard the stock bolts are perfectly fine at 19 or 20 PSI, Just making sure and if you guys think I need to install them doesn anyone have a link to VFAQ's installing of them cause I cant seem to find it:D thanks!!
    #1
  2. 9!'clipseDOHC

    9!'clipseDOHC Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    114
    El Paso, Texas
    I would most definitely use ARP headstuds. There isn't a good VFAQ but check out these two threads as they have a lot of good info:

    http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/bolt-tech/173303-arp-head-stud-install.html
    http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/cylinder-head-short-block/317794-head-stud-install-help.html
    #2
  3. amballer82822

    amballer82822 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Wow, he did it without the head off too defintly getting them, do you have any reccomendations of where or what ones I should get for like 19PSI?? I'm gonna try and do it just like that 1st link. Thanks though quick response, I want to order these now:)

    I love STM. so would this be okay to get http://www.streettunedmotorsports.com/parts/arp_head_studs_4g63_evo_dsm.htm
    #3
  4. LandoAWD

    LandoAWD Retired

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hillsborough, North_Carolina
    If you have a 6bolt and don't need to pull the head, don't.

    If that's the stock 7bolt, ARPs are better than stock.
    #4
  5. 9!'clipseDOHC

    9!'clipseDOHC Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    114
    El Paso, Texas
    Just the standard 7-bolt ARP headstuds. I believe the part number is ARP 207-4203. ARP 7 bolt DSM Head Stud Kit : JNZ Tuning, ARP 207-4203 ARP Head Studs They also make an undercut head stud but from what I have read the standard set works best for our application.

    http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/bolt-tech/159666-arp-head-studs-buy.html

    *EDIT - The link you posted from STM is good, just make sure you specify the DSM 7-bolt head studs.
    #5
  6. amballer82822

    amballer82822 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Thanks guys these head studs + STMS Afpr = Completed Big T28 Turbo setup = 320HP Dyno (I Hope :) )
    #6
  7. pboglio

    pboglio Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    21
    Palos Heights, Illinois
    Upgraded head studs on 2g = good. I would seriously do them, especially if you like to run alot of timing like I do.
    #7
  8. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Still looking into these. Im gna run about 19-20 psi on my 99 stock 7 bolt. Wondering if it will be a issue or if it can wait till i build up some more cash? If it cant I will tune at a lower boost level.
    #8
  9. LandoAWD

    LandoAWD Retired

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hillsborough, North_Carolina
    PSI is irrelevant without mention the turbo. You said "stock 7 bolt"...T25? If so, stock studs will be fine, and you should lower the boost as it's just blowing hot air at that level.
    #9
  10. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Fixed :)
    #10
  11. LandoAWD

    LandoAWD Retired

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hillsborough, North_Carolina
    Doh. Don't neg rep me!
    #11
  12. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Well i figured since since the original thread was for a T28,I would just use this one instead of making a new one. So yes its a Big T28.
    #12
  13. LandoAWD

    LandoAWD Retired

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hillsborough, North_Carolina
    In that case, the question is already answered in this thread...
    #13
  14. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Would the stock one even hang in there for lil while? What would would be the max boost you would run on stock bolts.
    #14
  15. Cirus_93TSI

    Cirus_93TSI Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glen Burnie, Maryland
    i would highly recommend changing over to arp head studs.
    my first dsm was a 93 tsi 7 bolt with a stock 14b, and i stretched the stock head studs while driving on the highway, lifted the head slightly apart from the block, and blew all the oil and coolant out into the engine bay before the motor seized up.
    chances are it was because i was running 18-19 psi on the stock sidemount and injectors (was my first dsm 10 years ago when i was 17 before i had any experience), but my point is it can happen, and its better to be safe then sorry when talking abut a low cost upgrade like arp studs.
    #15
  16. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    I contacted Road Race engineering and they told me something completely opposite of whats being said on here.
    #16
  17. ed1380

    ed1380 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    13
    ATL, Georgia
    And.... what did they say?
    #17
  18. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Not Needed. Just getting some feedback on here. General Consensus Kinda thing.
    #18
  19. agentorange313

    agentorange313 Supporting VIP

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    32
    Westfield, New_Jersey
    I am also curious to hear what an experience DSM vendor and support has to say about ARP headstuds, especially if it contradicts what we have been saying. I would argue it is "needed", thats how you learn, sharing ideas and debating.
    #19
  20. ed1380

    ed1380 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    13
    ATL, Georgia
    I think he means that RRE said that the studs aren't needed for those power levels. For $50 for a set of used studs, I would buy them rather than risking replacing a HG or worse.
    #20
  21. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Well so far I have talked to them and a local guy who does most of the Dsm's in dallas. They both say to leave them alone. Im curious as to whether its more of a tuning issue.

    I feel the sameway. Yet, if not needed then no reason you knw.
    #21
  22. 99gst_racer

    99gst_racer Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Posts:
    8,795
    Likes Received:
    134
    Coloma, Michigan
    Sounds like your issues stemmed from a poor tune. Definitely not the head bolts fault.


    re-rx7 - You don't nessacerily need ARP head studs. I ran stock 7-bolt head bolts up to 400 WHP and pushing 47 lbs/min, and I never pushed a drop of coolant. BUT, I would consider them if you think you may be flowing more airflow in the near future. By design, studs are better than bolts; just something else to consider.
    #22
  23. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    ardmore, Oklahoma
    Honestly, this car will never see a bigger turbo than a T28. Good post I never really thought of it that way. I figure with a good tune on 19 psi(560cc Evo,190lph) i can get about 280 Whp since i have access to 93 in Texas.
    #23
  24. TrystanGST

    TrystanGST Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chicago, Illinois
    I certainly don't "need" them on a T25, but since I had the head off ANYWAYS, why not?
    #24
  25. pats16valve

    pats16valve Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worthington, Ohio
    I would say get them. It's cheap insurance, and will allow for growth down the road if you change your mind on upgrading from the T28 in the future. I would also say they are not absolutely necessary for your power levels.
    #25

Share This Page