General Anyone out there still make chips?

Posted by natedog831, Jul 16, 2017 at 5:48 PM
Tuning & Engine Management - 4G63 EPROMS, ECU, MAF, knock, EGT, wideband, datalogging, fuel trims, etc.

Please Support Magnus Motorsports
  1. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So funds are a bit tight for to get ECMlink at the moment. So I thinking of going the chip route.

    There are 2 guys on eBay I found that are making chips, but they're only doing them for 1g's and didn't want to help me out.

    I have a 2g 96 GSX, 6 bolt swap, and a EPROM ECU. If anyone still making chips out there, comment or private message me. Name your price, I just need some basic stuff done.
     
    #1
  2. bastarddsm

    bastarddsm Proven Member Mendota, Illinois

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    592
    I can try to do one for a 2g, but I focus on 1g stuff. Afaik, the 2gs never had the chip following that the 1g had
     
    #2
  3. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. Is it harder to make a chip for a 2g ?
     
    #3
  4. bastarddsm

    bastarddsm Proven Member Mendota, Illinois

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    592
    No, it's all the same there just isn't as much info out there for 2gs, plus I don't have one, so I never had motivation to push forward
     
    #4
  5. bastarddsm

    bastarddsm Proven Member Mendota, Illinois

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    592
    I might have been one of the guys you messaged on eBay. Ive been super busy, and had a couple of customers that had issues that were not my fault I had to diagnose for them, and it took way to much time for the $50 I got out of a chip so I've not been super proactive on them lately.

    But if you want one we could work something out.
     
    #5
  6. bastarddsm

    bastarddsm Proven Member Mendota, Illinois

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    592
    #6
  7. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thanks for the insight. I mostly just trying to clear a code for a misfire, common with the 6 bolt swap. It's easy to clear it with link. Anyways I have a 10k pot mod on there that should help, I just have to make time to fiddle with it.

    But thanks for offering help. Glad to know someone on here's still making chips, I wasn't aware they were a hassle though LOL.
     
    #7
  8. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for providing that link. If I were to get a chip from you, I would just need injector compensation and a fuel map, plus clearing the code if possible.

    But I'm going to fiddle with the pot mod and see if I can get my code to clear. Ill just keep saving for link in the mean time
     
    #8
  9. GPLaserRS

    GPLaserRS Proven Member Grosse Pointe, Michigan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    197
    Likes Received:
    17
    @natedog831 have you considered switching to a black box ecu and open source tuning as a low budget alternative? I think Kurt (@bastarddsm) can help you out if you wanted to go that direction. I had him burn me a chip, I have a 1G though, and once I get my black box wired in he is the guy I'm gonna use to help get me tuned.
     
    #9
  10. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may consider it. I don't have black box ecu though, they were only in the 97-99 models I believe. But I have an extra EPROM ecu laying around, so I figured I'd take advantage of that, which is good so I can still drive my eclipse while the ecu is being worked on

    Thanks for the reply though I'll keep it in mind
     
    #10
  11. GPLaserRS

    GPLaserRS Proven Member Grosse Pointe, Michigan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    197
    Likes Received:
    17
    I only mention it because to pick up a 98-99 ECU is between $75-$100, and you have full access to tune with Ceddy Mods and a Tactrix cable. Some tuners will let you send them the ecu and they will flash you a base tune so you can get up and running and do some logs to start upping the power, they can even remote tune your car too. Just food for thought.
     
    #11
  12. natedog831

    natedog831 Probationary Member Salinas, California

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm sounds that pretty interesting. How hard is it to a black box ecu set up in the 95-96 eclipses ?
     
    #12

Share This Page

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Ace Race Parts Advanced Fuel Injection Archer Fabrication Boostin Performance ECM Tuning Extreme Turbo Systems ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions Jackson Auto Machine JNZ Tuning Magnus Motorsports Miller Import Parts Morrison Fabrication & Design OHM Racing Race Components Inc RockAuto RoadSurge Spultronix Performance STM Tuned Strictly Import Motorsports VR Speed Factory