1. EXPECT DELAYS! We'll be performing some routine system updates this week. Plan for some intermittent site outages. Sorry for the inconvenience. If you notice anything broken, post a thread in the Site Feedback forum please.

air conditioner shaking?

Posted by stealth13, Jul 13, 2011
Newbie Forum - Beginner DSM modification questions and discussions. Common, repetitive, and general discussions will get dumped here from other tech forums. Unless you're a Probationary member you shouldn't post threads here.

  1. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    When I'm driving or sitting and turn on the a/c the whole car starts to shake. Why would this be?
     
    #1
  2. mirage_david

    mirage_david Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    saint helen, Michigan
    Have you removed the belt and spun the pully by hand? The bearings could be bad.
     
    #2
  3. miguelmcv

    miguelmcv Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Fresno, California
    How hard it shakes?.

    My car used to do the same thing, But it was light shake.

    The problem was my AC Fan, It was vibrating when turn on.

    Replace the Fan and problem solved.
     
    #3
  4. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    Well here's the thing, if im idling and turn on the a/c the rpm drops from 800 to 3 or 400
     
    #4
  5. miguelmcv

    miguelmcv Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Fresno, California
    Are you Idling at all?.
    If you have a bad Idling, It can be a leak.
    Also check your ICS. It can starting to go off.
     
    #5
  6. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    it idles great when the a/c isnt on
     
    #6
  7. miguelmcv

    miguelmcv Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Fresno, California
    Check your ICS and check your TPS as well.
    But My bet goes to the ICS.
     
    #7
  8. SeaveeDSM

    SeaveeDSM Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    145
    Likes Received:
    6
    Miami, Florida

    I think you mean ISC, not ICS.
     
    #8
  9. miguelmcv

    miguelmcv Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Fresno, California

    By Bad.

    (ISC).

    Thanks to clarify.
     
    #9
  10. Spades

    Spades Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beaumont, California
    Try unplugging the AC compressor relay and turn on the AC, the compressor wont turn on but the idle should rise to about 1300, if it doesnt then either the ISC isnt compensating or check for +12V at pin 45 at the ECU
     
    #10
  11. blackGSX2g

    blackGSX2g DSM Wiseman

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    80
    Holland, Michigan
    Sounds like you need to test your IAC coils and properly set your idle.

    1G BISS Adjustment
     
    #11
  12. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    My car is a 2g, is that the same?
     
    #12
  13. Mackadoches

    Mackadoches Awaiting Email Verification

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Valdosta, Georgia
    Sounds like the a/c fan to me. Unless your rpm's are jumping erratically then I would think it has something to do with you ISC. Thats my educated guess. Does the belt screech?
     
    #13
  14. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    One of the belts screches pretty loud when I first turn it on when it's been sitting.
     
    #14
  15. Mackadoches

    Mackadoches Awaiting Email Verification

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Valdosta, Georgia
    Yep a buddy of mine had this same problem. Although his car didn't shake like yours. The screeching was coming from his a/c belt. Which if thats the case for you, it narrows your point of issue down to your a/c unit/fan. I would think that is where your shaking issue is originating.
     
    #15
  16. eeeric16

    eeeric16 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sarnia, ON_Canada
    I have this same problem - its not the a/c fan. When i push the a/c button the whole car starts shuddering and rocking. And the idle drops much lower you can feel it working harder. I know its not the a/c fan because i just installed new slim fans and it still does it

    I was thinking it has something to do with low refrigerant in the compressor or something of that nature. Haven't really checked into it yet
     
    #16
  17. Mackadoches

    Mackadoches Awaiting Email Verification

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Valdosta, Georgia
    This sounds like an altenator problem. My wifes car used to do this when she turned her headlights on. Have you had your altenator checked?
     
    #17
  18. eeeric16

    eeeric16 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sarnia, ON_Canada
    yes alternator checked out good. Haven't had any other problems related to the altenator. It only acts up when you push the a/c button and turn the fan on, but when i manually tested the fans to the battery they ran smoothly. I'm actually going to take a short video of what it does tomorrow and post it on this thread so you can see exactly.
     
    #18
  19. stealth13

    stealth13 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    calgary, Alberta_Canada
    Ya that sounds like mine, the rpm just drops from 800 , I can have lights and stereo cranked with 2 subs no problems, but the a/c... I dunno
     
    #19
  20. johnovision27

    johnovision27 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ayr, ON_Canada
    The reason your RPMs drop with the AC on isn't because of the stereo, headlights, or disco ball in your car, it's because of the increased load on the engine.

    As previously mentioned, check your ISC. When you turn your AC on, the ISC compensated for the increased load by opening up a little thus allowing more air in, and the RPMs should rise a little. (unless you've done some idle air nonsense to change that...) If they're dropping, I'm willing to bet your BISS is out of wack, or your ISC is toast.

    To test the ISC, you want to disconnect the plug, get a DMM (digital multi-meter) and measure the resistance between pins 1-2, 2-3, 4-5, 5-6.
    Someone might need to correct me here, but I believe you should get a reading between 28 - 32ohms. Higher is ok, lower.... well, I guess we'll see.
    If you don't get any reading, or there is no connectivity between one of those 4 connections, your ISC is toast.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ISC.png
      ISC.png
      File size:
      3.5 KB
      Views:
      298
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    #20
  21. eeeric16

    eeeric16 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sarnia, ON_Canada
    And just to clarify, what is ISC? :p I'm going to set my base idle speed back up to 750 tomorrow. I'm looking in my haynes manual and not seeing anything for ISC

    Scratch that, i was looking under cooling and a/c. found it in fuel and exhaust
     
    #21
  22. johnovision27

    johnovision27 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ayr, ON_Canada
    There ya go. haha. It's the controller on the rear lower corner of the throttle body. (pretty sure thats consistent through all years)

    Make sure you have the tools to set base idle (DSMlink ideally) Don't just go twisting and turning your BISS. If you set that incorrectly, then you're on the right path to burning the ISC out, and they aren't that cheap. Looking around $150 for a used one, unless you get lucky at the wreckers :D
     
    #22
  23. eeeric16

    eeeric16 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sarnia, ON_Canada
    yep thanks john for the info very helpful I'll check both that and reset my idle speed tomorrow
     
    #23
  24. johnovision27

    johnovision27 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ayr, ON_Canada
    No worries and good luck with that AC. We need it during this heat wave!
     
    #24
  25. eeeric16

    eeeric16 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sarnia, ON_Canada
    okay i reset the idle to 750, and then i checked the isc with an ohms meter. it read 1.1 from 1-2, no reading from 2/3 or 3/4, 1.1 from 4-5, and nothing from 5/6. I'm going to assume i need a new one to fix this.

    Also, after i reset the idle my car won't start. It has enough volts to start, the starter is engaging but it won't turn over >.<
     
    #25

Share This Page