A/c not working

Posted by allthrottle, Jun 13, 2009
Appearance/Interior/Exterior - All interior and exterior tech discussions; body and paint, conversions, lighting, washing, waxing, etc.

  1. allthrottle

    allthrottle Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amarillo, Texas
    When I got my car, the a/c tensioner/pulley and belt were off. I bought and installed those, but the a/c hasn't been blowing cold. I finally picked up a Pocketlogger and it doesn't show the a/c clutch light flashing on/off when I turn the a/c on/off. Anyone have any suggestions where to start fixing or diagnosing the issue?

    Thanks!
     
    #1
  2. RoninEclipse2G

    RoninEclipse2G Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Parker, Colorado
    I'd start with checking the system pressure. There's a pressure switch in there that if it doesn't register enough pressure the clutch won't engage. I've had that happen on a few cars that I've bought.

    A previous owner may have removed the belt and tensioner instead of having to deal with the R134 refrigerant update, sometimes that can get spendy
     
    #2
  3. allthrottle

    allthrottle Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amarillo, Texas
    From what I've read, r134 has the threads on the inside of the fittings and r12 has them on the outside. Mine has them on the inside, so I believe it's been converted to r134. The a/c compressor was loose whenever I got the car, and hanging by a bolt, so it's possible the guy tried to remove the a/c and couldn't get the compressor out. I didn't know the compressor just wouldn't turn on it all if it were low on freon.

    Guess I'll have to take it to a shop and have them check it out. Thanks!
     
    #3
  4. Defiant

    Defiant DSM Wiseman

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    25,202
    Likes Received:
    93
    glorious Galt, California
    #4
  5. allthrottle

    allthrottle Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amarillo, Texas
    Just an update:

    A/c works now! I took it in to an a/c shop and they said they suspected whoever converted the a/c to R134 never put freon back in it! Freon filled, but the a/c wouldn't work. After swapping around & replacing a couple of the fuses and relays, the compressor kicked on and blew ice cold.

    Thanks for the input :)
     
    #5
  6. Dserge

    Dserge Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weatherford, Texas
    Glad you were able to wrap it up.

    Clean 1g by the way.
     
    #6

Share This Page