The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

'96 TSi w/'95 Engine, which hydraulic tensioner?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stiggity99

10+ Year Contributor
Mar 31, 2011
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Greetings:
I own a 96 Talon TSi, and DSMLink, and lots of goodies. Im new to the _long-block_ modifications/maintenance world. Last year, i had a backyard mechanic do a new head, arp's, gates belts, etc.. and he blew it up, so i had to buy a good running engine, whcih came out of a 1995 Talon TSI. So heres my question(s), i compared the (Late 1995) tensioner that was on my '96 blown block, and it looks 100% different than the tensioner thats on my '95 repldced engine. Yesterday (Wenesday) I ordered all the parts i need for a t-belt, head studs maintenance job. And when i ordered, the website asked if it was an early 95 engine or late 95, and the dude on the phone said "Just get late 1995" Well, the tensioner im getting, doesnt resemble the tensioner on my engine i have now. Can i still use the late 95+ tensioner, if i trim my lower timing cover, or do i absolutely need to get the early 95 tensioner? All this said, im assuming the idler pulley, tensioner pulley, and balance shaft pulley will work. Any idea'a? thanks in advance.

--Steve

No. If it is an Early 95' Tensioner you need an early 95' Tensioner. Do not try to skimp on this - you're going to waste money and time if so. Always buy the appropriate year specific parts. I recently did a timing job on my early 95' block and made sure to verify the Tensioner style before ordering. If I recall correctly, the bolt holes are offset with the Early 95' being wider spaced by a small degree.