The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support STM Tuned

96 gst build

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kingreaper84

Probationary Member
Mar 1, 2012
Fort Stewart, Georgia
Alright well i just recently acquired a 96 gst with a rod knock. So today i pulled off the oil pan the metal shield and sure enough the #4 and #3 rod bearings r bad. I pulled the the bottom rod housing off and pulled the bearings out and sure enough they were bad and so wasnt the crankshaft journal. So now starts the rebuild i have never done this on a eclipse before so any tips would help i will update and add pics as i go along but on a very tight budget so will take awhile. If anyone has parts for sell to help me out please let me know. Thank you and stay tuned for the build.:pray:

Alright well i just recently acquired a 96 gst with a rod knock. So today i pulled off the oil pan the metal shield and sure enough the #4 and #3 rod bearings r bad. I pulled the the bottom rod housing off and pulled the bearings out and sure enough they were bad and so wasnt the crankshaft journal. So now starts the rebuild i have never done this on a eclipse before so any tips would help i will update and add pics as i go along but on a very tight budget so will take awhile. If anyone has parts for sell to help me out please let me know. Thank you and stay tuned for the build.:pray:

I'm not trying to be an ass, but people will jump on you for grammar on here. Punctuation, capitalization, etc.